Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Wow! I was surprised at how good these are! Some tips: I used an 11x17" jelly pan. Line the bottom & sides with foil & lightly spray the foil with non-stick spray. Generally, sticking is not a problem but I did have a problem with the foil stuck in the toffee where I had a seam in the foil. (I probably should have folded the two pieces of foil together instead of just overlapping them.) DO NOT use a pan with no sides. You don't want this stuff boiling all over in your oven. Feel free to cover the entire bottom with saltines. (If you use only the 4oz package, they will spread throughout the whole pan anyway as they boil in the oven.) Also, before you start timing the 3 minute boil, make sure it's truly boiling. Start timing once you see bubbling foam all around the edges. When you pour the boiled sugar mixture, don't worry about getting every section of the salines covered. Once you put it in the oven, it boils like crazy so the entire cracker gets covered. Finally, I think the milk chocolate chips would have been better than semi-sweet. (I love Swiss Colony toffee!) This is almost as good except I get to take credit for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
672 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
Pretty good!! Here's my suggestions: Bring to a boil on medium high and then allow to boil for the full 3 minutes without stirring. Space the crackers so they have some gaps between them. When the chocolate is put on, spread it with a spatula as if you were frosting each, then place in the oven for another minute to melt more, then add nuts. Let the cookies sit for about 20 minutes at room temperature and then break apart (they will not be set up all the way) into the individual crackers. Trim the edges with a knife and save the crumbs for ice cream or next time. Finally, let them chill for awhile in the freezer before storing. This way they come out looking nice enough to present--but they taste great no matter how you do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Very good! I used the saltines with the unsalted tops (not unsalted saltines, just no salt on the tops). You probably need a little salt to give the flavor contrast. Crisp, buttery, toffee-y (not a word) flavor. The chocolate and pecans put it over the top. To the cooks that had gooey results, you may not have boiled the mixture long enough, or, baked it long enough for that matter. Also, DO NOT STIR when it's boiling. I really think you do need to use DARK brown sugar for that true toffee taste. Piece-o-cake recipe, makes a lot for a little $$$, and people will be surprised when you tell them (if you do ;-) that you made it with saltines. Be sure to line a cookie pan with sides (jelly roll pan) with foil, and spray with a non-stick (I used butter flavor) spray prior to laying the saltines down. Easy clean up, and great for gift giving. You could also use almonds for that true toffee experience. I toated the pecans lightly beforehand. A treat to satisfy that simultaneous cookie/candy craving (read: Twix bar). Thanks, Tracy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
297 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I needed to take cookies to a COOKIE EXCHANGE that we were having with our office staff today. I saw these cookies, the reviews were great and they seemed novel and very fun to try. Well, to make a long story short, I made them WITHOUT the saltines. FIRST, I mixed 5 cups of miscellaneous ingredients -- Cherrios, Rice Chex, Pretzels, Raisins, Mixed Nuts, and Coconut spread out in a shallow layer on my cookie sheet. Then I proceeded exactly the way the rest of the recipe said. They were absolutely fantastic and everyone gobbled them down. A little salty and a little sweet. This would be a perfect basic recipe to use up all the bits and pieces of ingredients that you have in the cupboard. Tastes different each time! So all in all this recipe is a keeper. It is yummy and versatile at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
This has just been the hugest hit in our family. My daughter stole it from me, and now her husbands family is crazy over it. We played around a bit too.. we did two batches of the carmel sauce - made a layer of saltines, poured it over, sprinkled toffee chips, layered another saltine, poured the rest of the carmel, baked it 5 minutes, then sprinkled ghhiradelli's semi-sweets and cashews. When the chocolate was warmed, started in one corner and swiped back and forth in zigzags. It made the most beautiful presentation. At our get-together with friends, my two batches were the only empty dish at the buffet. ;) *Just wanted to add that we used Reynolds Release foil, worked a charm. Awesome Tracy, thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
These were excellent!! No joke. My son and his friend thought they were from See's. I used light brown sugar and no nuts. I used an entire sleeve of saltine crackers; I lined the baking pan with half the crackers and crushed the remainder in my hands and sprinkled them over the whole crackers. I did this because of some of the reviews I had read about these being a little greasy. The additional thickness of the crackers soaked up the butter perfectly. Next time I will probably crush all the crackers, so they are easier to cut into a variety of shapes. I will absolutely make these again and again. They were AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
So easy and addictive! I used a 9x13" non-stick pan and used only 3/4 cup light brown sugar and 3/4 cup butter. I tried 1/2 cup each, but it didn't create enough of the toffee layer. After spreading the chocolate chips I let it harden at room temperature. It takes about 2 hours and then I use a metal spatula to cut the bars. I tried putting them in the fridge the first time I made them, but when I started cutting them, the chocolate layer separated from the toffee layer. Then when I'm done cutting them, then I put them in the fridge. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
These are awesome! I originally got the recipe from a friend who called it "Cracker Candy." Definitely line the pan with aluminum foil first - it makes it SO much easier to get out! I'm not a big fan of nuts, so I put multicolored sprinkles on the melted chocolate instead. It makes a very pretty presentation! One thing I've learned it to make sure not to use too many crackers or the toffee won't be thick enough and won't soak through - one sleeve of crackers is perfect. When done right, it's extremely hard to tell that the base is Saltines. I think I have to make these again soon. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
DELICIOUS!! This was the first to go on my Christmas cookie trays. Easy to make. A must to line pan with foil and I put my in the fridge for about 2-3 hours. Breaks apart easier. THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
DO NOT STIR THE BUTTER AND BROWN SUGAR WHILE IT BOILS!!!!!! I have never made toffee before and I didn't know this. It really should say this in the recipe because they don't turn out like toffee skor bars...more like carmel. They are chewy. I was so disappointed that after I read reviews and realized not to stir the butter and brown sugar (I stirred it a lot, afraid it would burn) I decided to make another half batch just to make sure that was the problem. I also baked them for 7-8 minutes compared with my 4-5 on the first batch. THEY ARE INCREDIBLE, AS LONG AS YOU DON'T STIR!!!! I wish I had known. These taste like Skor candy bars. I sprinkled just a tiny bit of finely crushed pecans on top and they are delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KISSTHECOOKAGAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 950) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States