Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Followed the recipe to a T. Crackers and caramel and chocolate is completely stuck to my cookie pan. I put it in the deep freezer for 15 minutes desperate to freeze this batch and then break it off frozen. NO GO. This is totally stuck to my favorite pan. It tastes great! But line your pan somehow, seriously!!! Or you'll end up like me, disappointed and now with a ruined pan. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina-Bo-Bina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I did try this recipe and like every recipe, you have to make it once to learn what you did right or wrong. I made these a second time using graham crackers instead of saltines and make just a little more of the butter and brown sugar mixture and those two additions really made it into a five star recipe. I love the ease of this recipe - it is a brilliant concept and this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
My family LOVES this recipe!!!!! I have even tried it using a mixture of chocolate and peanut butter chips and even a chocolate and butterscotch chip mixture. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Very good and easy. Did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I knew about this recipe from a friend, and looked it up on all recipes to find the ingredients. This is a really easy cookie to make, and it is always a 100% hit! I don't know who came up with the idea of cooking them at 400°, I tried this recipe (thank you for the ingredients) but I found that cooking them in my oven at 400° burned them to a crisp. That batch was toast. The second batch I made with this identical recipe but cooking them at 350° came out perfect. Perhaps it's my pans, perhaps not. As an little joyous addition, I placed about 12 candy canes into a heavy duty Ziploc bag and crushed them up, and instead of nuts I sprinkled the candy dust on top! They were wonderful as a little Christmas treat that I took to a party, and they were a hit! One of my all-time favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Has anybody from high altitudes made these with success? I followed the recipe exactly with timing the boil and everything and still the toffee was grainy leading me to believe this needs to be adjusted for high altitudes (I am over 6500 feet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Absolutely love it so is my kids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nampenny
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
The directions should say to line the pan with parchment paper, waxed paper or foil or to grease the pan - something. I didn't read the reviews until now as I had had them before made by a friend of a friend so I went on blind faith. Needless to say the entire pan, pan and all, went into the trash. Common sense should have told me to line the pan because of the caramel. Guess I'm not thinking too clearly yet as I just had surgery a few days ago. Maybe I'll try them again when I'm in a clearer state of mind because I know they're good, therefore I'll give them the 5 stars. Next time I'll try lining the pan with parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
These are amazing!!! Right when the toffee starts to boil on the stove (this means bubbles are starting to form around the edge) boil it exactly 3 minutes and do not stir (I started the timer for 3 minutes when it came to a rolling boil and it burned). I then baked it for exactly 5 minutes. I also found Almonds to be the best because of it's texture (they were more crunchy...the pecans got a little lost). I also used dark brown sugar, not light. I won a bake off contest with these and I had people asking me left and right for the recipe. You must make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Excellent toffee recipe! Easy to make and especially if you are doing LOTS of them. We featured this on our Christmas buffet table and could not keep up with the guest's demand! Fortunately it is easy to make and very good. Be sure to 'cook' that step just before sprinkling the chocolate chips! Very important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 924) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States