Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Toffee to cracker ratio was way off (too much toffee). I ended up using 1 1/2 sleeves of crackers (4 oz = 1 sleeve), and still should have used more. I will try 1 stick of butter and 1/2 cup brown sugar with 1 1/2 sleeves of crackers next time. Flavor was good, recipe was very easy to make, it just needs some adjusting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
LOVE this and so does my family. My husband even asked me to make it for the neighbors. You do need to make sure you do what the recipe says and boil for 3 minutes - and that's a full rolling boil for those 3 minutes. Otherwise you'll get chewy toffee. Also - it's imperative you line your dish with foil and then spray that with non-stick cooking spray or you'll have a hard time getting them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Really good base recipe. For me and my family, they were TOO sweet and dense. The cracker crunch did come through as much as I had hoped it would. The flavor is REALLY good but they are too heavy of a dessert as is. If I did make this again, I would half the brown sugar topping because as it is, in my opinion, it is too much. Easy recipe and few ingredients make it a desirable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Fantastic and such an easy holiday gift to prepare. Around the holidays it is nice to give a home-made gift and this one couldn't be easier. I did take the suggestion of another reviewer and used n 11x17 jelly roll pan and increased the number of saltines to cover the pan (the rest of the ingredients remained the same). I also used parchment paper (didn't have to spray it). I used a metal spatula to spread the chocolate. I tried using a plastic flexible one and it wasn't spreading easily--the metal one made it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Short of hacking off slices from a packaged cookie log, this is one of the easiest sweets I've made. The crackers were making me question this all the way through, but it shouldn't have. I used foil to keep cleanup to a minimum, and with all the butter, nothing stuck. Make sure to start the timer for butter/sugar after it's actually boiling. Pour over crackers immediately. You don't have to be too perfect spreading over crackers, because it will spread out in the oven. Sprinkle chocolate chips right after you take out of oven. Wait the 5 minutes. It will look like they aren't melting, but will spread right out if you wait. Sprinkle the nuts. After cooling about 20 minutes, I did put it in the freezer for about 10 more minutes to help harden the chocolate. Not too long in the freezer, or the chocolate might separate from the toffee. Cut or break, and enjoy. Trust me, you WILL enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I'm just going to have to keep trying with this recipe. The first time I tried, I didn't use foil and I ruined my jelly roll pan, despite liberally spraying with cooking spray. I knew it was ruined anyway, because I stirred the caramel the entire time, and I'm not sure what was wrong with my chocolate chips, but they looked almost grainy as I spread them. I used Nestle Milk Chocolate. This time, I used a glass pan, but it looked awful coming out of the oven... Soggy? I put the melted chocolate on it anyway, and I can see a layer of grease forming along the sides of the glass... I'll wait to see how it sets up, but I suspect I will try again with a regular jelly roll pan and release foil. I'm determined to make this work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aquariusgal
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Awesome!! Very additictive ......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariusgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
My daughter-in-law just sent some of these for us to try. Awesome! I would like to make using the hard shell chocolate so they wouldn't be as messy :) these are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Delicious! But make sure you stick with the semi-sweet chocolate chips as the milk chocolate chips don't melt as quickly and aren't NEARLY as spreadable as the semi-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 951) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States