Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made two batches of this recipe, one using salted butter and another using unsalted. I preferred the salted butter one a lot more, it gave it more flavor. When you're making this, be sure not to get the toffee burn in the oven (burnt toffee is nasty). I think it would help if you spread the toffee out as much as you can before putting it in the oven, so the sides won't burn! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Absolutely wonderful recipe! Although be careful not to burn (I did first time). I stirred frequently to prevent the sugar and butter from burning and it turned out great the 2nd time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksharpe525

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made it twice now....It is wonderful and a quick and tasty gift. I am wondering if I can freeze this???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I love it but I cook mine at 350 which has reduced my ruining it significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Only the crackers around the edges crisped up. Crackers in the middle stayed soft. Prefer a toffee recipe withou crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I've made this before, but couldn't find the recipe I usually use. I found this one and it looked about the same. To my dismay, it wasn't. The cook times (both in the pan and in the oven) are too long, which burns the sugar. As a result, the toffee is very, VERY bitter. Also, 2 cups of chocolate chips is not enough. It creates a super thin layer of chocolate once you spread it out, and a thicker layer is better. With these modifications in mind, it would probably work out to be just fine, but as is it isn't a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I haven't had this treat in about 4 yrs. I decided to cut the butter to 1/2 cup (1 stick) and substitute 4 T. of light corn syrup. I was able to still completely cover all the crackers. I baked mine at 350 for 5 minutes - just until they were bubbly on top. They were as fabulous as I remembered them!! I set my pan outside (since it was 27 degrees) for them to harden. I was a bit concerned the bottom might not harden properly but they came out great! If you are wanting to cut some of the fat and not compromise flavor use the corn syrup. (I gave it 4 stars because of my changes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
GLUTEN-FREE VERSION... I followed this recipe exactly... had to come up with a gluten-free treat I could make within 15 minutes of leaving the house! ...took time to read only one review. I had a box of gluten-free crispbread mfg by Schar (a crispy saltine-type of cracker.) Walked away from the pan to quickly get ready while butter/dark brown sugar was boiling for 3 minutes - never thinking to stir! Returned to the stove - hoped I hadn't ruined it... but after reading reviews later, found that was the correct way! I did use foil - just to keep things neater, so that worked out great! Baked at 400 for 5 minutes. Used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips - put back in oven for a minute, as recommended, then spread with spatula. Used walnuts chopped finely in food processor, then toasted in toaster oven to bring out nutty flavor. Hurried and put hot baked "toffee cookies" still in jelly-roll pan (which I use as a cookie sheet) in a box and back of truck to cool in winter weather while we drove to granddaughter Lily's dance recital. When the recital was over, we all met at the back of our truck, broke up the "toffee cookies" and dug in. No one could believe they were made with crackers - or that they were gluten free! Absolutely delicious! Thanks for all the hints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
YOU JUST HAVE TO TRY THESE!!! THEY ARE WONDERFUL!!! I HAVE ALREADY MADE 3 TIMES THIS WEEK....EVERYONE THAT HAS TRIED THEM TAKES SOME HOME AND WANTS THE RECIPE....TO GO...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
SOOOO good! I would recommend lining the cookie sheet with foil and then spraying with cooking spray to help lift off the toffee easier. Also, put the toffee in the fridge for a couple hours to help set it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 979) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States