Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Delicious and addicting! I topped some with chopped walnuts, some with sea salt, and left some plain. My son had tons of fun helping with this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Excellent. I used a 9x13 glass pan (lined with foil and nonstick spray), and about a sleeve and a half of the cheapest saltine crackers at the store. Not greasy at all, and delicious. Instructions were very easy to follow, and I didn't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These are a favorite in our house and super easy to make. You can leave the top alone, after the chocolate is melted or you can sprinkle with chopped nuts or heath bars....make sure the chocolate is still warm when you put the toppings on so it will stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent and super easy to make! I did exactly what the directions specified--I didnt touch it once it started boiling and it turned out great. I used semi-sweet chocolate on the top and instead of pecans, I used sliced almonds. My husband says it tastes exactly like Almond Roca--which we both love. I plan on making this more often; it is so easy and cheap to make. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
OMG truly delicious. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I gave these 5 stars because they are so quick and simple to make, inexpensive, and everyone loves them! I whip out several batches of these for co-workers, teachers, bus driver, etc. Some tips: always line your jelly roll pan with foil AND spray with non-stick spray. You can use graham crackers or saltines; my family prefers graham crackers. Be sure to watch your time closely so they don't burn. After you put on the chocolate chips, return the pan to the oven for about one minute then it's easy to spread the melted chips with a spatula. I don't usually add the nuts as they are pretty expensive and I am always making multiple batches. I usually just sprinkle them with red and green sugar if I have it. I always let these cool in the garage-- freezer or fridge is not necessary unless you're in a hurry. Then before they are completely cool, use your pizza cutter to cut them. These makes a for a nice presentation (as they are in squares) and easy removal from the tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is so totally bad for you but it taste so good it doesn't even matter! I used unsalted saltines, light brown sugar instead of dark brown, and omitted the pecans because I didn't have any. Also the chocolate chips didn't melt all the way on their own so I popped them back into the oven after I sprinkled the chocolate on. The toffee kind of taste like caramel and it is so so good! Perfect for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Love this recipe! Very easy to make, very inexpensive too. It's great if you want to add something extra to the cookie tray for Christmas without spending a lot of money. I used dark brown sugar, but I think light brown sugar is okay too, it depends on how much you like molasses. Everyone loved this and I plan to make it every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
5 stars, definitely. A BIG hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Delicious! IF you follow these rules: 1. Line cookie sheet (with sides!) with foil and spray with Pam 2. DO NOT stir the butter and brown sugar! Every fibre of my being wanted to stir, especially at the beginning, but don't do it. It takes care of itself. Just put it on med-high, wait until the sides start to boil, then start your 3 min timer. 3. Watch the cracker/toffee mixture in the oven very carefully! My first batch only went 5 1/2 mins but it was enough to burn it beyond repair. Toffee is very touchy and all ovens differ so don't put the timer on for 6 mins and walk away...I learned the hard way! Other than that, it is an amazing recipe that people really go crazy for. I live in the Yukon so I just put it outside for an hour and it was ready to crack into bark-like pieces. Yum..thank you for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 925) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States