Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I haven't had this treat in about 4 yrs. I decided to cut the butter to 1/2 cup (1 stick) and substitute 4 T. of light corn syrup. I was able to still completely cover all the crackers. I baked mine at 350 for 5 minutes - just until they were bubbly on top. They were as fabulous as I remembered them!! I set my pan outside (since it was 27 degrees) for them to harden. I was a bit concerned the bottom might not harden properly but they came out great! If you are wanting to cut some of the fat and not compromise flavor use the corn syrup. (I gave it 4 stars because of my changes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
GLUTEN-FREE VERSION... I followed this recipe exactly... had to come up with a gluten-free treat I could make within 15 minutes of leaving the house! ...took time to read only one review. I had a box of gluten-free crispbread mfg by Schar (a crispy saltine-type of cracker.) Walked away from the pan to quickly get ready while butter/dark brown sugar was boiling for 3 minutes - never thinking to stir! Returned to the stove - hoped I hadn't ruined it... but after reading reviews later, found that was the correct way! I did use foil - just to keep things neater, so that worked out great! Baked at 400 for 5 minutes. Used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips - put back in oven for a minute, as recommended, then spread with spatula. Used walnuts chopped finely in food processor, then toasted in toaster oven to bring out nutty flavor. Hurried and put hot baked "toffee cookies" still in jelly-roll pan (which I use as a cookie sheet) in a box and back of truck to cool in winter weather while we drove to granddaughter Lily's dance recital. When the recital was over, we all met at the back of our truck, broke up the "toffee cookies" and dug in. No one could believe they were made with crackers - or that they were gluten free! Absolutely delicious! Thanks for all the hints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
YOU JUST HAVE TO TRY THESE!!! THEY ARE WONDERFUL!!! I HAVE ALREADY MADE 3 TIMES THIS WEEK....EVERYONE THAT HAS TRIED THEM TAKES SOME HOME AND WANTS THE RECIPE....TO GO...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
SOOOO good! I would recommend lining the cookie sheet with foil and then spraying with cooking spray to help lift off the toffee easier. Also, put the toffee in the fridge for a couple hours to help set it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I do this recipe every year! My family loves it! Use a cookie sheet and cover it with parchment paper then put down the saltines. I never have a problem with sticking or messes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
These cookies were given to me as a Christmas present by one of my fifth grade students last year. I loved them and asked for the recipe. I was given the same recipe that appears here. They are yummy and a hit with everyone. Quick and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I also used a jelly roll pan, at least that is what my mother calls it, 11x17 or 18 I think. And boiling the Brown sugar and Butter in the microwave makes it much easier and less chance to burn. Doesn't take long at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I have a toffee recipe about the same as this without the saltines. I could not taste the saltines in this, it crunches the same... With or without saltines, it's a delicious toffee recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Love these! Make sure and line the bottom with foil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Cannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
These were awesome! We used cinnamon flavored graham crackers, milk chocolate chips, and walnuts. I cooled and keep them in the freezer or they get gooey. I did have the same problem others had with sticking. Next time I will follow suggestions of others to use foil, don't stir while boiling, and keep oven long enough. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houlton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 953) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States