Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
everyone begs me for the recipe... love that it is so easy to remember!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I love how easy and affordable these tasty treats are! Gave them as a Christmas present so I used holiday color semi-sweet chips which have red and green mixed in with the chocolate. Made them even more attractive and festive. I come from a family of foodies and all of them (including me!) never thought of saltines for a dessert. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is the exact recipe I have used for years with rave reviews. I use light brown sugar rather than dark but I have tried the dark and I really couldn't tell the difference. Just a tip to the novice bakers be careful and not overcook these because the sugar will burn quickly so watch over them to ensure a perfect batch. These are great for gift giving and ship well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
My family LOVES these and I do too. Anytime I need to make something QUICK and sweet.... this is it! EASY and fairly fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Sauserman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Turned out awesome....have always loved this dessert but never made it before ....didnt really measure out choco chips ....just sprinkled a good helping out on top and sprinkled some butterscotch ones to...waited the 5 minutes spread it out and sprinkled pecans all over didnt measure them out either...crushed them into little pieces.....MMMMMMMMmmmmmmm is all I can say and my family ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I've made this recipe twice now. My sister made this years ago and I had forgotten it existed. Glad I came across the recipe. I topped it with some toffee chips along with the nuts in the final step for extra crunch and toffee. I'm leaving some for the mailman in the morning for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyCan'tCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very Very Good!! A little too much chocolate for me, but other than that, wonderful. I've also tried this recipe using graham crackers and just then pecan. Also WONDERFUL!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
REDICULOUS! AND SO MUCH FUN! Teen daughter calls this "CRACK-ers" it is sooo addictive! When I saw this I had to try it- I love toffee and am now terrified for my bikini now that I know how delicious and simple this toffee treat is to make! I made 2 batches on (2) 11x15 jelly roll pans allowing for more crackers(left no spaces) but didn't increase the other ingredients so the toffee layer may not have been as thick as if I had used a smaller sheet/fewer crackers- but plenty plenty to coat everything nicely. I made one batch with a good dark chocolate and one with regular ol nestle semi sweet chocolate chips- the dark chocolate was by far my favorite. Wont use the semi sweet again- as it was a bit too "waxy" in the finished product and I didn't love the flavor nearly as much. Think it would be really fab with milk chocolate too. Make sure you put into a HOT oven to keep the sugar cooking to a golden toffee-you don't want the sugar to cool. After cooling thoroughly - I covered both sheet pans and put in the fridge overnight. Just finished breaking/chopping it all up- very easy when cold. If you're making this for gifts I recommend doing this when no one is around or you have nothing left!! (sill pat on sheet made it super easy to lift off AND to collect and store all the broken bits for ice cream later). I just finished putting into gift boxes- I have to get this out of the house ASAP or it will never make it! :-) I'm happy to have found this silly delicious recipe- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
My Mom used to make these for years and years at Christmas. She will be gone 15 years May 2014 so I've been making them for our Christmases ever since. They are wonderful, delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 978) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States