Saltine Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I cant believe how easy and yummy this is.. Watch your bake time carefully, 5 minutes is plenty. Dont stir sugar and butter as it boils, you will be tempted..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I thought they were yummy. Hubby found them way to sweet. My only negative is, they are way to greasy on the bottom. I'm sure the kids will eat them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Thanks for great tips from reviewers. Used parchment, one sleeve of saltines fills 15x10 sheet, place crackers salt down, don't stir when boiling, use dark brown sugar, bake at 350 for 7-8 mins, watch it doesn't burn, let set at room temp then cut with pizza cutter then fridgerate. I prefer milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This is the second year that this has become my 'go-to' recipe, and it got rave reviews, once again. It is SO easy, and I work for a Catholic school where the Fathers heard that I make these in droves and asked me to PLEASE make some for them! Any one that has any problems with it...3 minutes of boiling, start to finish, is THE key, and instead of nuts I use Heath Brickle Bits. Going to try this again using Special Dark chocolate...Thank you, so much, for a WONDERFUL recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Tehako

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
So easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I added Heath bits. Tastes like toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I've been making these for years and have learned a few things. #1. Use heavy duty aluminum foil. The thin foil is difficult to peel off. #2. The crackers float while in the oven. Have a pointy knife or fork ready to slide these back into place before adding the chocolate chips. #3. If you want to cut these into squares or bars, you need to cut them within 10 minutes of taking them from the oven. I have a Chinese cleaver I use, but a chef's knife will also work. #4. I use a bag of milk chocolate chips. I prefer the milder taste of milk chocolate to go with the slightly burnt taste of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I made these without the nuts and everyone was asking for more! Highly addictive :) Light brown sugar works just as well. Easy clean up too when you line the pan with foiland spray with non stick baking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Always a good recipe for quick and easy Christmas gifts. I have also used graham crackers instead of saltines. Both are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This recipes is super easy to make! I went along with previous suggestions and used milk chocolate chips and waited 20 minutes for them to cool a bit. I also put the saltine crackers on a pan that has edges and covered it with parchment paper. I suggest using a pizza cutter and gently rolling in between the cookies while the toffee was cool but still a bit chewy so you can move the pizza cutter and make straight lines. Along the edges where the cutter couldn't reach, I then took a butter knife and gently jabbed through. They haven't cooled completely yet but I already tried one and they are so good! I can tell these will be quite addicting and probably won't last long in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 952) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saltine Toffee Cookies

These easy cookies make a great snack or holiday gift.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States