Saltimbocca alla Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
This was really tasty. I used much less garlic, butter and oil and thought it came out great. The prep time was more like a half-hour for me though, and I cook every night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
This was very very good. My 3 and 5 year olds cleaned their plates. I added mushrooms and served it over pasta. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This was delicious! Listening to other reviews, I did not add any salt and I put provolone inside the rolls. I would make another recommendation, too. When the chicken is browned, I would remove it from the pan, use some of the wine to de-glaze, then add the cornstarch (I use flour) to make a roux to begin the sauce. Then add the rest of the wine and some chicken broth. Cook until the sauce starts to thin and return chicken to pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
This is an awesome recipe - very tasty. Everyone loved these. A single one of these is much more filling that what you would think. I used the same amount of ingredients called for, but spread it over 8 pieces of chicken. I doubled the wine/sauce - when I realized how good it was, I knew everyone would want extra. The key is having the chicken pounded very thin - I was able to roll these without toothpicks. Then I moved them to the pan and cooked them well on the bottom where the roll is seamed before turning - this ensured that they stayed together. After that, I was able to turn them onto the other sides to finish cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This was FABULOUS! I made if for four 26-year-old men, plus myself, and we all loved it! It was easy, tasty, and satisfying! It tasted like authentic Italian chicken saltimbocca. I will definatly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This recipe is delicious - especially with added mushrooms! I also changed a few things to cut down on the fat content. For 3 chicken breasts I mixed 1 1/2 teaspoons olive oil with 1 Tablespoon minced garlic. I brushed this on both sides of the chicken then sprinkled both sides with black pepper - no salt (the prosciutto has enough salt). I then wrapped one piece of prosciutto around each chicken breasts - I didn't roll up the chicken. I pan fried the chicken in 2 tablespoons of butter until brown on both sides. I then removed the chicken from the pan, deglazed the pan with about half of the white wine, added one can of sliced mushrooms and cooked for a little then added the rest of the wine. I then put the chicken back in the pan, covered it and simmered until the chicken was done. To thicken the liquid I mixed 1 1/2 tsp cornstarch with 1 1/2 tsp cold water then added to the pan. I also added a little chicken broth to make more of the yummy gravy. Spoon the mushrooms and gravy over the chicken and it is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Great recipe and very easy. My 19 year old loved this. I served this with fresh steamed spinach and poured sauce over chicken, spinach and pasta. Slice the chicken on a diagonal and fan out for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
Superb!! I tried not to roll the chicken and it worked perfectly. Also good with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Great Recipe......easy too! My husband, a picky eater loved it too!!! I am always looking for something new and I recommend giving this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Salty. If I had to do over again, I would not add any additional salt to the recipe. The proscuitto takes care of it. Husband doesn't like sage very much but I do and thought the recipe was great. He thought there needed to be cheese added to this. He liked the other version I made better (see reviews). Anyway, this looked beautiful on a plate when you slice into the breast. I could see using this recipe as an appetizer, small slices on a tray maybe with toasted pine nuts tossed on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States