Saltimbocca alla Pollo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
This was way too garlicky for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
This was good! However, I made it for 2, but I did not change the ingredients of the sauce part and I'm glad I didn't!!! There's a nice amount to put on the chicken after you cut it up and it's a very nice flavorful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
My family and I truly enjoyed this recipe. It was a little salty, and took longer to cook than I had anticipated, but we will definitely add this to our "dinner rotation!" The chicken had a very nice flavor, and my 5 year old even asked for seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
It was verry good, but the proscuitto ham made it a bit too salty. I rolled it with a spear of asparagus in the centre which added a nic touch of green. We are not really rice fans, but I served it (with the sauce as suggested) on a bed of wild and brown rice with butter, chopped green onions and frozen petite peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
This is an awesome recipe - very tasty. Everyone loved these. A single one of these is much more filling that what you would think. I used the same amount of ingredients called for, but spread it over 8 pieces of chicken. I doubled the wine/sauce - when I realized how good it was, I knew everyone would want extra. The key is having the chicken pounded very thin - I was able to roll these without toothpicks. Then I moved them to the pan and cooked them well on the bottom where the roll is seamed before turning - this ensured that they stayed together. After that, I was able to turn them onto the other sides to finish cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
This recipe is delicious - especially with added mushrooms! I also changed a few things to cut down on the fat content. For 3 chicken breasts I mixed 1 1/2 teaspoons olive oil with 1 Tablespoon minced garlic. I brushed this on both sides of the chicken then sprinkled both sides with black pepper - no salt (the prosciutto has enough salt). I then wrapped one piece of prosciutto around each chicken breasts - I didn't roll up the chicken. I pan fried the chicken in 2 tablespoons of butter until brown on both sides. I then removed the chicken from the pan, deglazed the pan with about half of the white wine, added one can of sliced mushrooms and cooked for a little then added the rest of the wine. I then put the chicken back in the pan, covered it and simmered until the chicken was done. To thicken the liquid I mixed 1 1/2 tsp cornstarch with 1 1/2 tsp cold water then added to the pan. I also added a little chicken broth to make more of the yummy gravy. Spoon the mushrooms and gravy over the chicken and it is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Salty. If I had to do over again, I would not add any additional salt to the recipe. The proscuitto takes care of it. Husband doesn't like sage very much but I do and thought the recipe was great. He thought there needed to be cheese added to this. He liked the other version I made better (see reviews). Anyway, this looked beautiful on a plate when you slice into the breast. I could see using this recipe as an appetizer, small slices on a tray maybe with toasted pine nuts tossed on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
I listened to another reviewer and did not roll the chicken breasts. After cooking in a skillet I layered the chicken with a couple pieces of spinach, a slice of prosciutto, and a slice of mozzarella.I also added some lemon juice to the white wine sauce. I didn't want a thick sauce and did not use any cornstarch. This recipe was delicious! Served it with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This had a really great wonderful flavor! The only changes I made was instead of rolling the prosciutto in the breasts, I pan fried the breasts, then put the prosciutto on top, and then a slice of mozzarella on top of that and let it melt and get gooey. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
this is very similar to another recipe i've tried before, except it had asparagus rolled up inside as well. it was good! i'm not good at pounding the chicken out thin enough, so my rolls kind of came un-done - which was easily solved by holding them together with toothpicks. just have to remember to remove them before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pollo Fajitas

See how to make simple chicken fajitas with a zesty marinade.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States