Salted Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
this is great, simple and the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I love all your recipes and videos including this one. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I just whipped up my first batch of this salted caramel sauce, and it's exactly what I was hoping it would be. It's thick, dark amber colored, it's sweet and salty, and right now it hasn't quite cooled yet and I'm about to enjoy it over ice cream. I followed the recipe as written and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is very tasty. Make as directed, it does thicken up, and may be too thick for ice cream topping, I added 1-2 Tbl. additional cream plus 1/2 tsp. vanilla. super! Makes a nice fondue sauce for dipping fresh fruit and cake squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
The best--kept in fridge for several weeks--heated up for 40 seconds in microwave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My first homemade caramel sauce recipe! I really liked it, though my stove might have been too hot; it took way less than 8 to 10 minutes to turn amber, and it does have a slightly burnt flavour, but in the same way creme brulee tastes. Plus the leftover whipping cream can be whipped for added toppings! I will definitely make it again. p.s. I used it on my apple mincemeat crisp! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made it today. It looks very easy and I've made caramel sauces before that are quite good as well. Just a word of caution, DON'T let it get too dark or too smokey. My first batch was bitter because I let it get very dark like on the video. I made it a second time and it turned out delicious, I just didn't wait for it to smoke. I think that's too long to wait. But good job Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This recipe is awesome! It turned out 1st try, I served it over my home made vanilla bourbon ice cream, OMG! The only change I made was using pink Himalayan salt.????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Schaffler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I followed the directions EXACTLY! The sauce was lovely color but bitter. This is the last time I will try to make homemade caramel sauce. Very disappointing. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I highly recommend watching the video before making this. Even for experienced cooks this was a little tricky. I ended up just slightly burning the sauce, and some of the sugar clumped together. Despite all this the taste was still very good. After watching the video I realized what I had done wrong - not letting all the chunks dissolve completely before stopping stirring. Also the recipe is a bit off for the timing of here 3-8 minutes. I let mine sit un stirred for 3 minutes and came close to burning It. However, it was a fast easy recipe for a delicious sauce, so I will try it again and hopefully it will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States