Salted Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Made this caramel sauce over the holidays to use in or on two different recipes, one of which is the Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake recipe also from this site. I never knew that caramel sauce was so easy to make....the video is very helpful. I will never buy a jar caramel sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I love salted caramel! I thought it was pretty exciting to make and the result was absolutely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I read the recipe carefully, watched the video twice, followed all the directions and made the recipe two times ina row. Both times it came out terrible. It was so bitter we couldn't eat it. The first time I thought maybe the sugar got burned so I tuned down the heat and took it off much earlier the next time and it was still terrible. What a disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
A fabulous recipe which made for a delicious caramel sauce! Pouring it over my homemade brownies I served it to my friends, the whole thing was gone within maybe 10 minutes, spending the last 5 purely eating the caramel sauce out of the pan. Will definitely be making this again as it vamped up my brownies from delicious to heavenly and was great on its own also! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nesloorug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Absolutely the best. I whipped it up to drizzle over a boxed spice cake because I was too lazy to make it from scratch and it has to be one of the best toppings I've ever had. Chef John- no blasphemy! Its better than hot fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My go-to salted caramel recipe. After I make it, I pour it over a pan of chocolate brownies and let it get all gooey. My daughter asks for this every year for her birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leia
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I like this recipe a lot, though I had some initial trouble because it appears that my stove is hotter than that which the recipe creators is. I put this on medium high heat and I burned the caramel. I put it on Medium heat, and I got verrrrryyyy smokey caramel. Now I have it somewhere in between Medium and Medium Low and it's worked perfectly. Tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I was so not thrilled with this recipe. Chef john makes it look really easy. But the flavor is not sweet and its a pain to make. It solidifyed to my spoons and whisk...it was everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This recipe is to die for! Definitely watch the video to get a better sense of colour etc as it's cooking, but this sauce seriously is delicious and goes with everything from fresh fruit to cheesecake. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I need Chef John to make this for me! Kind of freaked me out and the first batch I burned, so keep in mind how well your pot holds heat. I have a very heavy cast iron pot which I used both times. The first time I follwed instructions completley. The second time as soon as the sugar melted, and was still light in color, I moved to a different burner. Did not take long from there for the sugar to turn dark and smoke then I continued as directions say. I'm making a apple crisp cheesecake which I will use this on top of...If there is still some left come Thanksgiving day! Also, as someone who has never tried homemade caramel and am use to the bottle at the store kind. The flavor on this can't be compared. Don't expect the store, overly sweet stuff. This has a little bitter bite to it. I added about 1/2 tsp vanilla at the end to lighten that up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States