Salted Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I read the recipe carefully, watched the video twice, followed all the directions and made the recipe two times ina row. Both times it came out terrible. It was so bitter we couldn't eat it. The first time I thought maybe the sugar got burned so I tuned down the heat and took it off much earlier the next time and it was still terrible. What a disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
A fabulous recipe which made for a delicious caramel sauce! Pouring it over my homemade brownies I served it to my friends, the whole thing was gone within maybe 10 minutes, spending the last 5 purely eating the caramel sauce out of the pan. Will definitely be making this again as it vamped up my brownies from delicious to heavenly and was great on its own also! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nesloorug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Absolutely the best. I whipped it up to drizzle over a boxed spice cake because I was too lazy to make it from scratch and it has to be one of the best toppings I've ever had. Chef John- no blasphemy! Its better than hot fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My go-to salted caramel recipe. After I make it, I pour it over a pan of chocolate brownies and let it get all gooey. My daughter asks for this every year for her birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leia
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I like this recipe a lot, though I had some initial trouble because it appears that my stove is hotter than that which the recipe creators is. I put this on medium high heat and I burned the caramel. I put it on Medium heat, and I got verrrrryyyy smokey caramel. Now I have it somewhere in between Medium and Medium Low and it's worked perfectly. Tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I was so not thrilled with this recipe. Chef john makes it look really easy. But the flavor is not sweet and its a pain to make. It solidifyed to my spoons and whisk...it was everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This recipe is to die for! Definitely watch the video to get a better sense of colour etc as it's cooking, but this sauce seriously is delicious and goes with everything from fresh fruit to cheesecake. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I need Chef John to make this for me! Kind of freaked me out and the first batch I burned, so keep in mind how well your pot holds heat. I have a very heavy cast iron pot which I used both times. The first time I follwed instructions completley. The second time as soon as the sugar melted, and was still light in color, I moved to a different burner. Did not take long from there for the sugar to turn dark and smoke then I continued as directions say. I'm making a apple crisp cheesecake which I will use this on top of...If there is still some left come Thanksgiving day! Also, as someone who has never tried homemade caramel and am use to the bottle at the store kind. The flavor on this can't be compared. Don't expect the store, overly sweet stuff. This has a little bitter bite to it. I added about 1/2 tsp vanilla at the end to lighten that up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
wow! it worked just like chef jon said! looked pretty scary at the bubbly stage, but the end result is amazing! i used a heavy cast iron skillet so i worried about burning the sauce since the pan gets so hot. i'm glad i did because the color is perfect and it was big enough to contain the bubbles. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My first time making caramel sauce. I had no idea it was so easy and the results so amazing. I followed the instructions in the video exactly and had excellent results. It took less than 30 seconds of boiling without stirring for my sauce to reach the desired color. Added salt to suit my taste since I'm always complaining about all these salted caramel things you buy that you can never tell are salted. Awesome recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States