Salted Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
my stove top must be hotter than the chef's...first batch...burned. It was the dark amber color like in the pic but was burnt sugar, bitter tasting. 2nd batch cooked lower and slower and it's lighter in color (aka not burned)but still has a slight bitter taste to it. Is it supposed to be bitter tasting? I've only had the store bought stuff so can't compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Very rich and buttery. I overcooked it the first time, so it was a little too dark, but second time turned out great. Its not quite sweet enough for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Needed some caramel for my ice cream. Very easy to do just copy the video. Very smooth and creamy good over ice cream and apples so far. I added a 1/2 tsp of Mexican vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I could just eat this with a spoon!!! I use it as one of the toppings on my chocolate cheesecakes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Made this caramel sauce over the holidays to use in or on two different recipes, one of which is the Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake recipe also from this site. I never knew that caramel sauce was so easy to make....the video is very helpful. I will never buy a jar caramel sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I love salted caramel! I thought it was pretty exciting to make and the result was absolutely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I read the recipe carefully, watched the video twice, followed all the directions and made the recipe two times ina row. Both times it came out terrible. It was so bitter we couldn't eat it. The first time I thought maybe the sugar got burned so I tuned down the heat and took it off much earlier the next time and it was still terrible. What a disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
A fabulous recipe which made for a delicious caramel sauce! Pouring it over my homemade brownies I served it to my friends, the whole thing was gone within maybe 10 minutes, spending the last 5 purely eating the caramel sauce out of the pan. Will definitely be making this again as it vamped up my brownies from delicious to heavenly and was great on its own also! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nesloorug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Absolutely the best. I whipped it up to drizzle over a boxed spice cake because I was too lazy to make it from scratch and it has to be one of the best toppings I've ever had. Chef John- no blasphemy! Its better than hot fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My go-to salted caramel recipe. After I make it, I pour it over a pan of chocolate brownies and let it get all gooey. My daughter asks for this every year for her birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States