Salted Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I was good, but it's not necessary to stair the sugar until it begins to melt, save your arm some time. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and it was perfect. To those who said it was bitter, perhaps you had sugar built up on the side of the pot or it was just cooked too long? I would use a pastry brush to brush any loose sugar that finds its way up the side back into the pot to prevent this. If you use a candy thermometer bring it to 345 (really 350, but -5 for carryover cooking) and remove it from the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMLuna310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I followed exactly as the video, although I probably could have cooked the sugar longer to a darker amber, but the smell of sugar possibably burning made me stop. To turned out wonderful. Easier then I anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I just made this recipe, it's the first time I've ever attempted a homemade caramel sauce. It's amazing how delicious it is considering how easy it was. Very rich, very buttery, and the perfect consistency. I glazed brown sugar banana-nut muffins with it, but I can't wait to try it on ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
my stove top must be hotter than the chef's...first batch...burned. It was the dark amber color like in the pic but was burnt sugar, bitter tasting. 2nd batch cooked lower and slower and it's lighter in color (aka not burned)but still has a slight bitter taste to it. Is it supposed to be bitter tasting? I've only had the store bought stuff so can't compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Very rich and buttery. I overcooked it the first time, so it was a little too dark, but second time turned out great. Its not quite sweet enough for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Needed some caramel for my ice cream. Very easy to do just copy the video. Very smooth and creamy good over ice cream and apples so far. I added a 1/2 tsp of Mexican vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I could just eat this with a spoon!!! I use it as one of the toppings on my chocolate cheesecakes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Made this caramel sauce over the holidays to use in or on two different recipes, one of which is the Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake recipe also from this site. I never knew that caramel sauce was so easy to make....the video is very helpful. I will never buy a jar caramel sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I love salted caramel! I thought it was pretty exciting to make and the result was absolutely divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I read the recipe carefully, watched the video twice, followed all the directions and made the recipe two times ina row. Both times it came out terrible. It was so bitter we couldn't eat it. The first time I thought maybe the sugar got burned so I tuned down the heat and took it off much earlier the next time and it was still terrible. What a disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States