Salted Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
It was a mess to make and to be honest, not that great, in my opinion. Too bitter. I prefer the caramel sauce from the recipe "Almond Cupcake with Salted Caramel Buttercream Frosting" from this site. Easier and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Delicious. I didn't like the look of such a dark sauce as in the photo, I made mine the traditional camel-caramel color. Followed the recipe and the video instructions. I ended up with a few hard bits, like caramel candy, in the sauce so I put the pot back on the stove at a very low temp for a few minutes and it soon melted back in fine. I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
this is great, simple and the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I love all your recipes and videos including this one. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I just whipped up my first batch of this salted caramel sauce, and it's exactly what I was hoping it would be. It's thick, dark amber colored, it's sweet and salty, and right now it hasn't quite cooled yet and I'm about to enjoy it over ice cream. I followed the recipe as written and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is very tasty. Make as directed, it does thicken up, and may be too thick for ice cream topping, I added 1-2 Tbl. additional cream plus 1/2 tsp. vanilla. super! Makes a nice fondue sauce for dipping fresh fruit and cake squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
The best--kept in fridge for several weeks--heated up for 40 seconds in microwave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My first homemade caramel sauce recipe! I really liked it, though my stove might have been too hot; it took way less than 8 to 10 minutes to turn amber, and it does have a slightly burnt flavour, but in the same way creme brulee tastes. Plus the leftover whipping cream can be whipped for added toppings! I will definitely make it again. p.s. I used it on my apple mincemeat crisp! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made it today. It looks very easy and I've made caramel sauces before that are quite good as well. Just a word of caution, DON'T let it get too dark or too smokey. My first batch was bitter because I let it get very dark like on the video. I made it a second time and it turned out delicious, I just didn't wait for it to smoke. I think that's too long to wait. But good job Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Tracy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This recipe is awesome! It turned out 1st try, I served it over my home made vanilla bourbon ice cream, OMG! The only change I made was using pink Himalayan salt.????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Schaffler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States