Salt and Pepper Squid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Yum. I've tried to duplicate salt & pepper squid from restaurants, but it was always too salty. This is perfect. I didn't have szechuan peppers, but used combination of black and red. Crunchy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Delicious! I used squid rings that only had to be defrosted and rinsed. I didn't have Szechwan peppercorns so I substituted cayenne pepper. My family loved it and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Quite good and easy. I didn't have time or energy to cook the salt and pepper beforehand so I just added them to flour and cornstarch uncooked and coated both squid and some shrimp. I lightly spread oil on hot pan and fried on each side for about 4 min instead of deep frying. Tasted really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I think I am doing something wrong. I am looking to duplicate the pepper salted squid served on Sandy Blvd in Portland Oregon (Thien Hong) I have moved to Texas so I can't ask them. I am using more mature squid but have a difficult time getting the crunchy texture and it certainly cooks longer than 30 secs! I have even tried a deep fryer. Adding about 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes and serving with wilted green onions gets me closer to my desired results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Very good and how quick it was to make! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. I was very excited to make it because I love squid.....but all I could taste was cornstarch. I was curious why the recipe even called for it....just flour seasoned the way you like it works just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I found this dish to be ok, it didn't have enough flavour for my liking. Next time I will use half the amount of flour and double the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
really enjoyed this simple yet effective recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khadz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I think this recipe is just alright. It wasn't what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
squid and pepper only but very deli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Shrimp Cooked on Pink Salt

See how to cook marinated shrimp on a hot slab of salt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States