Salt and Garlic Bagel Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I used 1 regular bagel and 1 everything bagel thin. It is hard to slice a regular bagel very thin without loosing a finger. Made seasoning as directed. At first the sauce went on the bagel slices very easy. At the end, it was clumpy and would not spread evenly so added more oil. Baked for 10 minutes. Next time we will use any old bread/bagels and tear into pieces and drop directly into bowl of sauce to coat, then bake and use in salads. These had a good flavor but not real strong. Will also add more garlic and maybe a pinch of salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Served these at a small family get together & they went like hot cakes. I made a few hours ahead of time & refrigerated, then baked. Did not find them to be dry at all. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Awesome...I sliced them crosswise and used sun-dried tomato oilve oil - freakin yum! I plan to take them to the potential in-laws tomorrow for Thanksgiving, if any are left...; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Excellent. Very minorly modified by using everything bagels, garlic powder instead of fresh, and Kosher salt sprinkled over them before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I have a ball with this recipe, used everything bagels, stirred galic powder, Italian seasoning salt and black pepper into the olive oil and brushed it on the bagels. Then sprinkled with seasame seeds and Parmesean cheese before baking. We were liberal with the oil, which makes this crisp but not dry. Wow. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcirisheyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Great recipe. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Thank you for bringing this recipe "back" - I tried it last year during the holidays and everyone raved about it. I had two holiday events catered, one I forgot to order appetizers. I went to recipes.com and this is one of the recipes I had saved. I omitted the salt and pepper and had it at the table. I also had marinara sauce in small bowls and chopped eggs, onions and caviar to spoon on top of the bagel chips. As one reviewer stated, "they went like hotcakes". Thank you, Robyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These are the best. I have also cut up baguette bread and do it up the same way! Hubby and son love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Nice little bagel chips. I made them into small pieces. I used cheese bagels that were about to bite the bullet, and I used garlic powder--was afraid the fresh garlic would burn. The cooking times and temp were perfect--nice and crispy. Thanks for a tasty snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Very good! I used 1 teaspoon minced garlic and 1 or 2 teaspoons garlic powder. I had mini bagels in the fridge and used 4 of those. You can add the spread to them and put them right in the oven without needing to dry them out first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States