Salt Rising Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Yesterday, I finished baking three loaves of this bread, and this morning I enjoyed some of the best toast I've had in years. This bread is ideal for toasting. I do admit to cheating a bit, though. I often don't have five-plus hours to baby-sit rising loaves, so I tossed in a half teaspoon of instant yeast as I was kneading it. The salt-rising flavor was still there, but it cut the rise times down significantly. Someday I'll try it without adding the yeast, but for routine use, I think its an acceptable compromise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S M Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
My Mom was born and raised in a Kentucky, Ohio river town. She has always loved this bread. We all live in the St. Louis area and cannot find this bread anywhere. She has not had any of this bread for almost 15 years. So I made her 5 loaves for Christmas. She loved it. I did save a loaf for myself. It was not a hard recipe but it does take some time. I recognized the smell during the starter stage. I thank you and my Mother thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
I didn't think I would ever find this recipe again. My mother is German and she would make this when I was a child, although kids don't usually like it because it's not the normal white bread that they're used to. This is a great recipe for this very "different" kind of bread. Try it, you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftgal1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
My father has Alzheimer's and he was asking for this over and over again. Thank you for helping me find what he was looking for! He LOVED it, and I didn't think it was horrible to make. It was actually a nice challenge and I kind of became obsessed with it ;) It is delicious toasted with butter! Again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This recipe was so much faster and better than the one I have. The results were great. I made it exactly as the recipe stated but used the back of the coal stove to keep it warm. Great flavor. This is one recipe I'll keep making..Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2000
I have been trying to duplicat the salt rising bread my grandmother made back in the 30's for over 25 years. Most tries have been total failures. I tried this recipe yesterday (02/19/00) and the bread was delicious, and rose magnificently. I am very happy to have this recipe. It is better than the bread made with King Arthur Salt Rising yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
If you had problems with this recipe a likely problem is that you could have used "degerminated" corn meal. That happens to be the only kind sold in my local grocery store so I have to go old school and grind actual dried corn for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe! Works everytime. Makes wonderful toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This recipe is the best! I have made salt rising bread for years using a potato/water mixture as a starter but the cornmeal/milk is much better. I use melted butter not shortening. On the second recipe I increased it by half with the same excellent results. I have a 100 deg proof setting on my oven that makes this bread easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Many years ago (30+) I remember our bakers orders "salt rising yeast" from the yeast man. It made a delicious yet very "stinky" loaf of bread. I tired this recipe and was excellent! It brought back memories and though it was "stinky", when I toasted it and put butter on it, I was in heaven! Thank You for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BredPhd

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States