Salt Rising Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This recipe was so much faster and better than the one I have. The results were great. I made it exactly as the recipe stated but used the back of the coal stove to keep it warm. Great flavor. This is one recipe I'll keep making..Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
3rd Update: I finally got this to work. I tried the starter a 3rd time, heated my glass jar in the dishwasher, then covered it and left jar of starter on my padio in the Texas heat (where else is it a constant 95-110 degrees?). Whew. Made a great loaf of bread (excellent toast as mentioned my other reviewers!), but I am not sure if I will try this again anytime soon...(: Thanks for the post & letting me try somethign different! Update: So far this has not worked for me. I have started the starter (repetative phrase there!) twice. The 2nd time I got a few bubbles, but it wasn't enough to continue with making the bread. I will try again at some point, right now I am bummed! ): Original review: I have been wanting to try this bread for several years. Made starter 6-16-08, will update and take pics of progress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Salt rising bread can be very unpredicatble. As one reviewer reported it never did rise. This is a common problem - one time it comes out beautifully, the next it is a total waste. In a spirit similar to making sourdough bread however, the successes are so rewarding that the failures are easily overlooked. If you have had a problem with this breead, give it another try -- the successful loaf is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I followed the recipe to the letter and all went well until time to let the dough rise in the pans ( after kneading). The dough just sat there! nothing ever happened...waited more than 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I had never made SRB before, until I read this recipe. My bread was the best SRB I had ever eaten, and I have eaten plenty. Follow the directions and you will have Blue ribbon SRB. I am going to Fl next and have always taken loaves with me from the store, but this year its my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
In the "Southern Tier" of Western New York, this bread is available in every little restaurant that serves breakfast. It is offered (almost exclusively) as one of the options for toast. It is wonderful as toast, and as grilled sandwich bread. It does have a VERY disSTINKtive aroma, but it is WONDERFUL bread. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
My Mom was born and raised in a Kentucky, Ohio river town. She has always loved this bread. We all live in the St. Louis area and cannot find this bread anywhere. She has not had any of this bread for almost 15 years. So I made her 5 loaves for Christmas. She loved it. I did save a loaf for myself. It was not a hard recipe but it does take some time. I recognized the smell during the starter stage. I thank you and my Mother thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
I didn't think I would ever find this recipe again. My mother is German and she would make this when I was a child, although kids don't usually like it because it's not the normal white bread that they're used to. This is a great recipe for this very "different" kind of bread. Try it, you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftgal1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2000
I have been trying to duplicat the salt rising bread my grandmother made back in the 30's for over 25 years. Most tries have been total failures. I tried this recipe yesterday (02/19/00) and the bread was delicious, and rose magnificently. I am very happy to have this recipe. It is better than the bread made with King Arthur Salt Rising yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States