Salsafied Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I changed things slightly to fit my family's tastes. I added a bit more mexican kick by tossing the cubed chicken in taco seasoning before cooking. I used brown rice to make it a bit healthier and I only used a sprinkling of cheese instead of the recommended amount. Then I served it up with a dolop of fat free sour cream and home made guacamole. It was fantastic. The leftovers will be great to use as a burrito filling. My husband is a diabetic and this recipe is chock full of flavor, protein and, since I used brown rice, has healthy carbohydrates for him to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
391 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Um...can you say DELICIOUS!!?? This is such a fantastic recipe! The version I make takes a bit longer because I don't use instant rice: If I have it, I like to use 6-8 bone-in skinless chicken pieces...season them and brown them in olive oil. While they're browning I also throw some sliced yellow onions in the pan and get them all nice a browned as well. Then I add the chicken broth and salsa (I always use the fresh stuff from the deli section of the grocery store packed with cilantro!!), also add 1 cup uncooked brown rice and 1 cup water..and as a nice nutritional bonus, a can of black beans. Turn to low, cover and simmer until the rice is cooked, about an hour, adding water if necessary. Cilantro is a yummy garnish. Also, if you use the small cubed chicken as in the recipe or just pick some chicken off the bone in my version..this makes amazing taco/burrito filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenOlive

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I made Salsa Chicken in the crockpot today (homemade salsa, chicken breasts, homemade taco seasoning--cook on low all day) in order to make this dish. I just folded in the chopped Salsa Chicken into the rice after it had cooked. I also adjusted the dish in order to use regular long-grain rice instead of instant, which I never keep on hand. Other than that, I kept everything the same. I did not care for this, but my husband and kids did--they ate every single bite. I served this with additional salsa and reduced fat sour cream and I made a black bean/corn "salad" to go with--the combination together was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Love Love Loved this recipe! Will make again and again. Next time will add a bag of frozen mexican veggies (black beans,corn,onion, peppers) and maybe use brown rice to make it healthier. The only change I made was to add taco seasoning to the chicken while it was cooking, i think it added lots of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This has good flavor, but I wonder if the 2 cups of instant rice isn't too much. I included 16 ounces of salsa instead of only 8, and added 1/2 cup sour cream and 2 tablespoons green chilies before the rice. I served it with taco sauce and tortilla chips. You can also throw in a cup of corn, or serve with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Simple, quick, and delicious! Everything in one pan for easy clean-up which was a plus. I needed something easy for a late night supper for me and my husband and this was perfect. I did season the chicken with "Taco Seasoning II" from this site before browning. And I used Ortega's Thick and Chuncky salsa - a bit more than called for actually. This was done in no time at all! I used a Mexican blend cheese and to make the presentation a little better I chopped some green onion and sliced black olives on top and served with a side of light sour cream. This has to be one of the easiest meals I've ever made off of this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This was great. I was not sure if two cups of rice meant cooked or uncooked so I only put one bag of uncooked rice in and it needed more so I put two. Hopefully that will help anyone else that may be wondering. It is definitely worth tryig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSUNRISE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Excellent! Used brown rice and sprinkled the chicken with some taco seasoning while it was cooking. Added some corn and topped it off with some sour cream, very good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROXYEYES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
My FAVORITE! I have made this recipe about 5 or 6 times already and love it! It is super simple and delicious. I never have instant rice on hand, so I just use regular rice. I also add a dab or two of sour cream before serving and I add less cheese than the recipe calls for. Other than that, it is perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariluh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponce, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I used 4 chic breasts(they were big) and tossed them into taco seasoning as someone suggested. I also added more salsa. I think you could add anything to give it more flavor or your secret ingredient. Great thing to put in a burrito as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States