Salsafied Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
2 cupss of rice only if your planning on feeding over3 people, Fab job thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I tried it because of the simplicity. I do believe simple can be wonderful. This was ehh but easy. I needed a easy after work recipe that would use salsa I had in the fridge before it spoiled and instant rice as well that I had on hand. I already had frozen cooked chicken in the freezer. This wound up being a good starter recipe. It needed more liquid to cook through and it was bland. I added sour cream and all the extra "mexican" seasonings. After that it was pretty good. I made cornbread on the side as suggested. I think corn would have been a great add in. Also black beans would be too if eaten with tortilla chips. Thank you for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Photo by jahampton
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Very very good. I made it exactly as the recipe instructed. As good as it was, I will make some modifications next time around. 1 1/2 lbs. of chicken. Only 4 oz. of cheese. 12 oz. of salsa. And I will add veggies and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This stuff rocks the only thing I did different was add a small can of diced green chillies serve with some sour cream makes it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
So easy! My male friend that was 40 before he learned to make a grilled cheese or scramble eggs can make this. If you are putting together recipes for people going out on their own that need to be easy to build their confidence, include this one for sure! I usually add 1/2 a can of drained black beans and would recommend that. I have also added taco seasoning, extra spicy salsa for a kick, or just more salsa for a higher ratio of it to rice - but this recipe is great as is with no alterations. It can also be used as a burrito filling or tostada base. HAVE SOUR CREAM ON HAND!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I've been making this for a long time. Love this recipe. Think I'll used homemade salsa next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve Julian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This recipe was so tasty and so easy! I too added taco seasoning to the chicken while cooking and a can of black beans. I don't use instant rice so I cooked it ahead of time and then added the rice at the end. We topped it with Greek yogurt(in place of sour cream), cheese and more salsa. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is a very easy and quick meal to make. Tastes good too. Family liked it. I will save this recipe to make again on those nights when time is short and I need to put dinner on the table in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Quick, easy, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hicksville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This was great! I skipped the S&P and seasoned the chicken as it was cooking with Penzey's fajita seasoning instead (1 1/2 - 2 tsp). In the end, this turned out plenty salty from the broth (used Penzey's chicken base for that); had I salted the meat, think it would have been far too salty. Also used half cheddar and half Mexican blend shredded cheeses. For me, the salsa negated any need for extra onion or green chilies. This had plenty of flavor! I agree with others, though the instant rice makes this come together quickly and is a nice option, I'm going to try regular long grain rice next time. The instant seems to crumble too easily. I'll also boost the liquid a bit, mine got dry when sitting for a short while. Overall, very simple and quite tasty! I've tried similar recipes and in my opinion, this one is considerably better. A keeper -- thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States