Salsafied Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I read the reviews and added taco seasoning mix to the chicken and a can of Ro-Tel Mexican flavored chopped tomato with lime juice. I also threw in some chopped onion, bell pepper and green chilis, sort of in the "fajita" style. I refrigerated part and froze the rest in portion sized freezer bags for my teenagers to make healthy burritos from after school (instead of the other junk they usually eat!) They can just heat the packet in the microwave and wrap 'em up in a tortilla - I'll make it again with different ingredients; I think everyone at my house is gonna like this idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Pretty good! Tossed chicken in taco seasoning before cooking. Used 3 bags of rice-in-a-bag so used more chicken broth ~ 2 1/2 cups. And covered at the end to cook rice through. Added corn and black beans. Served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
It was rather " soupy " & kinda looked pinkish. I would try it again but I'd use less salsa & less chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I made this recipe tonight and it was a huge hit with my husband and 17-year old son. I did make a few adjustments similar to those I read in other reviews. I added one package of taco mix to add some flavor, I used a 16 oz jar of salsa, and substituted instant brown rice vs white rice. I did have to add about a cup of add'l water and simmer for about 15 minutes to make sure the rice cooked all the way through. Then I topped with the cheese (I used about half the amount the recipe called for) and served once melted. I served with homemade guacamole and sour cream. This will become a regular meal in our house. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Delicious recipe that even my son enjoyed! I added some fresh corn to it and used yellow instant rice. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Made this tonight. It was very tasty. I used taco seasoning in with the chicken as suggested so I didn't add salt or pepper and used No salt added chicken broth. Turned out excellent...I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was a easy meal to put together. Great for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was great Easy to make. Will make it a favoite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I was really excited about this recipe, but it was not good at all. It came out way too soupy, even after I cut the broth down a little. I had to serve it with a slotted spoon and it was still way too soupy. And the rice was undercooked and I had to cook it more, but it was still kind of gross. Great idea, doesn't work at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Made the recipe as written except for adding corn with the salsa and broth. Next time, I will use medium salsa as it needed more flavor. Family also thought there was too much cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States