Salsafied Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was delicious and so easy to make! I used regular rice instead of instant and added it after the broth and salsa came to a boil. I cooked for an additional 15-20 minutes and added the cheese at the very end, just long enough to melt a bit. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Next time I will change it up a bit to play with flavors, but it is definitely great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
My whole family loves this. It is now in my regular rotation. I don't use instant rice though. I cook the rice separately in chicken broth, using about a cup of rice. I mix it all together to simmer for about 10 minutes before serving. I also use taco seasoning on the chicken. I serve this with sour cream, tortilla chips and avocado if I have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is a delicious chicken dish! However, it turned out kind of runny. I thought it was the frozen brown rice I used, but not sure. Aside from the runniness, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Holy cow this is awesome! I substituted white rice for instant brown rice and tossed the cubed chicken in taco seasoning to up the flavor. I also added a can of rinsed black beans during the simmer step. Topped with a bit sour cream and a dash of dried cilantro (wish I had fresh on hand) this truly hit the spot. It'll be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Great recipe. I added some thin slices of green pepper and onion, 1/2 can of corn and 1/2 can of black beans. Also added a couple shakes of hot sauce. I was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I Absolutely love this recipe. It's a good, quick weeknight meal for your family. The only thing I changed is I use already cooked rotisserie chicken and green salsa verde (16 oz jar) This time, since I'm making this during the summertime I added fresh corn right off the cob. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
"needs a little more kick" so thats what i'll have to do next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was very good, used my homemade salsa and increased the servings to 6 because we had an extra child. However, they must have been big servings because we ended up with a fair amount of left overs. Only thing I will change is that I will let the rice cook a bit and then stir it again before putting the cheese on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Delicious! I cut my chicken up and shook in a baggie with taco seasoning as others suggested. I also baked my chicken instead of cooking it in the pan, just as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made this with some minor changes, I seasoned the chicken in homemade taco seasoning I also sautéed a thinly sliced shallot with the chicken, I then added 1 cup uncooked long grain rice ( not instant) about half a jar of hot salsa, a can of chopped green chiles, and brought to a boil and reduced heat to low and simmered 20 minutes, then added cheese, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States