Salsafied Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This was a nice quick dish to prepare after dinner. I added onion and hatch green chilies. I am sure glad that I did, or I would be fearful that it would have been rather bland. The dish is tasty, but for the calories of this dish, I think that there are some other dishes I would rather make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was an excellent recipe. I didn't use instant rice and only used about 4 ounces of hot Pace salsa and it was quite spicy, but still yummy. Used about 1 1/2 lbs chicken. Browned the chicken with 1/2 cup diced onion and 1 Tbsp. butter then added put it all in the rice cooker (except the cheese) and let it do the work for me. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I rated it 4 stars due to all the changes I had to make to it. For me, the recipe was too "box like" and basic and with a few simple additions, it was fantastic. I cooked mexican rice II (from allrecipes), seasoned the diced chicken with salt, pepper, and cumin, browned it, then added 10 ounces of salsa, a bit less than a whole can of black beans, a can of green chilis, and some corn. I completely omited the chicken stock since I cooked the rice on the side. Once the mixture started to boil, I added the already cooked mexican rice and stirred. I used 4 oz of cheddar cheese which was perfect. My family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I used one cup of diced tomatoes with garlic and basil instead of salsa, I poured one packet of taco seasoning into the mix, reduced the broth to a half cup, and used jasmine rice (my favorite). It was a big hit with husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Very good. Only change I made was to add Franks Red Hot to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This recipe was pretty amazing. My husband and I give it a 4. Pairs well with cornbread on the side to help with the spiceyness. I added frozen vegetables (corn, onion, red and green pepper package) and taco seasoning. I was going to add black beans but I forgot them. I noticed though that I needed more liquid after we started chiding down. The rice wasn't able to fully cook because there was not enough liquid. Next time I might add a 1/2 cup of water just to be safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This one is a requested repeat from the family. So easy to make and so pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mojavec

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mojave, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was really yummy, and oh so easy! I doubled the recipe, used fresh salsa, put the chicken in a bag and tossed with a package of low sodium taco seasoning and added a can of black beans rinsed and drained and cut the cheese down as suggested by others. Dh added some sliced serrano chili on his. next time I make this I would probably add some frozen corn to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Very good recipe. I followed the advice of a few other reviews and used one cup of regular rice and black beans so it took a little longer to cook. The entire family gave it two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States