Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
The first time I made this I put everything in a food processor, big mistake! The onion juices overpowered everything else. I had to through it out. Second time I didn't and it was delicious. Just to be safe I only used half an onion. I also doubled the lime juice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It was an amazing appetizer, especially with homemade chips! We did not have jalapeño's so we used seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I am not a chef or very good cook, but my husband raved about this, and I LOVED it too. So fresh and delicious! I am making it tonight for the second time in less than a week (but doubling it!). I did add the whole jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Zerger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This is pretty much the way I have made salsa for years. I never really measure anything, but everything looks about what I do except maybe I add more cilantro. I do add about 1 t. of cumin for some pep. I also seed my jalapenos, spray them with Pam, and then broil them until the skin turns black before using them- it gives them a smoky flavor. I vary the amount of jalapeno depending on the crowd. To make this super easy, I do everything in my food processor. I start with the items that I want more finely diced: start with jalapenos and garlic, pulse it til small, then add everything else but tomatoes. I pulse again until well chopped and blended. I add tomatoes last and only pulse til they are roughly chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Very good , just like Mexico
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was very good! I added a little corn and black bean to this salsa. Other than that, made as it. Everyone liked it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Great as is...or good base to change it up! I added about 1.5 cups chopped mango (frozen, slightly defrosted). I made it all in a food processor. Turned out so good with the mango!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Delicious and very simple and quick to make. I serve it with tortilla chips and my guests love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
For more punch add one envelope of Lawrys Taco Seasoning Mix and lower the amount of cilantro. It is a very powerful seasoning and a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Everyone likes a different heat in their salsa. It all goes with a person's personal preference. Myself, I thought it was way too bland and should be called more of a Pico. For this size I tripled the Jalapenos, added a couple milder red cherry peppers, about a teaspoon of cumin, and half a teaspoon or so of chili powder. This is a good recipe for a base or for those with mild taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChadRo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States