Salsa de Tomatillos Como Las Asadas y Big Star Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I liked it. I made it with 4 serrano peppers but next time I will add more (like the cook recommended) and leave some seeds in to give it more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aksilva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I am an avid tomato salsa recipe maker, but my husband has been asking me why I never use tomatillos. My response was that I've never used tomatillos ever in my life. Well, this was the lucky recipe I chose, and I'm glad I did. It was a great choice. Excellent flavor, and very easy to do. The serrano peppers were small, and after roasting, I couldn't get the skin off without tearing them apart, so I just threw them in the blender with skins on.... didn't notice one bit!! Will definitally make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
My father in law is from Mexico and makes the MOST AMAZING green salsa, having said that, I love this recipe. It has great flavor and uses authentic flavors and techniques. I actually didn't use the serrano chiles (all I had were 4 poblano) so my salsa is not hot, but very flavorful instead. Next time I will try using the serranos. I have a hand blender, and I used that to blend it up. If you use a regular blender make sure you clean it very well if you don't want your smoothies to taste like chile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michago

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Apart from using a little more garlic, I make this as written, and it is phenomenal. Awesome as a dip, but also REALLY good poured over grilled chicken and/or salmon. I always make a big batch of it because it never lasts long. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
i have probably eaten my own weight in salsa and chips in my life. that said, this is just amazing and reminds me of going to a taqueria back in houston. very flavorful and delicious, all of my roommates loved it!! definitely going to make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Minnesota_Girl
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is so easy and so delicious! I did add a little cumin, but otherwise followed exactly. Left the seeds in 2 serranos and it gave it a good kick! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is the Holy Grail of Salsa Verdes. Be sure to use gloves to cut your peppers. I learned the hard way! Ouch. Recipe definitely worth it though!!! Best I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridge City, Texas, USA
Living In: Orange, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States