Salsa de Eppinette: A Three-Pepper Inferno Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
1) 1-3 habaneros for desired hotness (personally, I prefer three; but my wife prefers one); 2) The can of plain diced tomatoes should be drained, reserving the juice; the juice can be added to the processor at the end of the second step, pulsing the processor again, if the salsa is too thick. ** I would like to thank Denise Smith of "D's Famous Salsa" for the original inspiration to dive into salsa making! **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
OMG this is gooood! I'm from San Diego and am really picky with my salsa. This is the real deal. I was a little apprehensive about all the 'heat' but it's not too much. I followed the recipe exactly! I'm looking forward to eating it after it has sat in the fridge for a couple of days - if it lasts that long! UPDATED 3/20/11 - I make this regularly and I wanted to send out a warning to others who are not used to working with hot peppers. You really need to wear gloves or be extremely careful to not touch anything, especially mucous membranes after handling these inferno peppers. The first time I made these I didn't use gloves and I touched my mouth (Not the smartest, I know, but you can learn from my mistake!). At first, the burning was really intense on my mouth but the tingling lasted for HOURS on my hands. Anyway, I get asked to make this salsa all the time and I'm always taking home an empty bowl. Recently, my husband's office rated some store bought and some homemade salsa's and this one won! I love this salsa! Thanks Jeff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I substituted 1 small bhut jolokia and 3 brazilian starfish (aka atomic starfish) for the habanero. Great flavor and nice heat. If you really like it hot include 2 small bhut jolokias. Be warned...using 1 bhut jolokia makes it too hot for 75% of people and using 2 bhut jolokias makes it too hot for 98% of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
No need for the carrot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senkyb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Great salsa! I didn't have the carrot or green onion, so I just threw in a little extra white onion. Also added extra garlic and used italian stewed tomatoes because that is all I had. AMAZING! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
SO GOOD! This recipe is perfect for those who their salsas spicy and not chunky! I omit the carrot and cilantro (personal preferance). Be sure to drain both cans of tomatoes. If you like your salsa chunkier, I'd only put half the can of diced tomatoes and half the chopped tomato in the food processor, and simply stir the rest in afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Thanks for a great recipe...I didn't have a habanero pepper so I added a couple of chipotle peppers from a can in during step one. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Great taste - and HOT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Traupmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States