Salsa Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
My husband loves this salad and repeatedly asks me to make it. I omit the olives and green chilies and add only 2 teaspoons of white sugar. I also add just one teaspoon of chili powder since 1 tablespoon is way too spicy for us. Adding a can each of dark red kidney beans and whole kernel corn and using a red onion makes the salad even more attractive. If it weren't for the adjustments I've had to make on my own, this salad is definitely worthy of 5 stars. Its a keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
I was looking for a low-calorie pasta salad. This was the lowest I found and it sounded different. I was hesitant about only using 2 cups of dry pasta but it turned out to be plenty. I did add about 1/2 cup extra fresh cilantro to the salad. After letting it chill/marinade in the fridge for a few hours I've tasted it and think I will also add a finely diced jalapeno for some spice. It tastes really good now but I think I would enjoy the flavor of a jalapeno. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2000
This is such a great recipe for those work related potluck/BBQ's. I never have any to bring home!! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This is the best!! I did add avocados and black beans and corn. Everyone loved it!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Awesome! I used Olive Oil instead, and only 1/3 cup...Splenda instead of sugar, and took out the bell pepper, doubles the onion and added cucumber! Gotta try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
This was a great salad. I used six roma tomatoes and a couple of jalapenos. If I make it again I'll add a bit more pasta and some chunks of avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Too much going on all at once. The vinegar was way overpowering for me. I could not eat more than a few bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Loved this recipe. I did take one reviewer's advice and added some fresh chopped jalapeno to the cilantro dressing. I also substituted purple onion and yellow bell pepper to make the dish more colorful! Also used regular penne pasta, rather than the rainbow pasta - it is all that I had on hand. Great mixture of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I've made this a couple of times for potluck BBQs and everyone liked it. I used a red onion and yellow pepper for a little more color, and it makes a lot of the dressing so the second time I used 3 cups of dry pasta instead of 2 and there was still plenty of dressing to coat everything well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I love this recipe and have made it several times. Great side dish for a BBQ or potluck. I like to add both black and green olives, but other than that I think it is perfect "as is."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States