Salsa Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
My husband loves this salad and repeatedly asks me to make it. I omit the olives and green chilies and add only 2 teaspoons of white sugar. I also add just one teaspoon of chili powder since 1 tablespoon is way too spicy for us. Adding a can each of dark red kidney beans and whole kernel corn and using a red onion makes the salad even more attractive. If it weren't for the adjustments I've had to make on my own, this salad is definitely worthy of 5 stars. Its a keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
I was looking for a low-calorie pasta salad. This was the lowest I found and it sounded different. I was hesitant about only using 2 cups of dry pasta but it turned out to be plenty. I did add about 1/2 cup extra fresh cilantro to the salad. After letting it chill/marinade in the fridge for a few hours I've tasted it and think I will also add a finely diced jalapeno for some spice. It tastes really good now but I think I would enjoy the flavor of a jalapeno. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2000
This is such a great recipe for those work related potluck/BBQ's. I never have any to bring home!! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This is the best!! I did add avocados and black beans and corn. Everyone loved it!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Balsam Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Awesome! I used Olive Oil instead, and only 1/3 cup...Splenda instead of sugar, and took out the bell pepper, doubles the onion and added cucumber! Gotta try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
This was a great salad. I used six roma tomatoes and a couple of jalapenos. If I make it again I'll add a bit more pasta and some chunks of avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Too much going on all at once. The vinegar was way overpowering for me. I could not eat more than a few bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Loved this recipe. I did take one reviewer's advice and added some fresh chopped jalapeno to the cilantro dressing. I also substituted purple onion and yellow bell pepper to make the dish more colorful! Also used regular penne pasta, rather than the rainbow pasta - it is all that I had on hand. Great mixture of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I've made this a couple of times for potluck BBQs and everyone liked it. I used a red onion and yellow pepper for a little more color, and it makes a lot of the dressing so the second time I used 3 cups of dry pasta instead of 2 and there was still plenty of dressing to coat everything well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I love this recipe and have made it several times. Great side dish for a BBQ or potluck. I like to add both black and green olives, but other than that I think it is perfect "as is."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States