Salsa Ninety Nine (Mild) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This is a great recipe if you need to make a lot of salsa or want to make a bunch at once and can it or freeze it. We cut the recipe by about a fourth and it still made about 8 cups. We froze it in 2 cup sizes, as the bottles at the store are 16 ounces. These are the modifications I made to the recipe, for our 1/4 size batch. I did my own calculations, as I didn't trust the ones on the site to be accurate enough, and they did turn out with different numbers than I did. I actually didn't have as much fresh tomatoes as it called for (nor did I have a food mill), so I actually just used 1/2 the amount in fresh tomatoes and 1/2 the amount in crushed tomatoes, and it turned out great. I used 4 large tomatoes. With the fresh tomatoes, I peeled them by cutting an x on the non-stem end and dipping them in boiling water to make the peel easier to remove. Then I cut them into quarters and put them into my food processor (I didn't bother seeding them). I put the crushed tomatoes into the food processor as well (one large 28 oz can) of crushed tomatoes and one 6 ounce can of tomato paste. Then you boil all of this and while this is boiling down (to reduce the liquid) you can work on chopping everything else. We used 1/2 bunch of cilantro, 1 bell pepper (seeded) and one onion, 1/2 head of crushed garlic and one seeded jalapeno pepper. I had never worked with jalapeno before, and I used gloves to handle it. I was afraid of making it too spicy, so I only used 1 pepper, but after I tasted a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This is the salsa you MUST make! It is amazing. I halfed the recipe and it was lots for our family. I did add some green onions for colour. Be sure to make this recipe as it is stated then it will be fabulous! I dont have a mill so I just chopped it and pureed it in this little chopper gadget that I have. Worked great! Next time I am going to use only 4 jalepenos in the recipe that I halfed because with 8 it was a bit too spicy for me! My husband loves it spicy! This is the best salsa recipe that I have found yet. Just perfect. We are having mexican tonight now! Highly recommend and thanks for sharing Joyce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is a great salsa recipe. I've searched for an "authentic" salsa recipe to mimic my favorite restaurant's recipe and this definitely hits the mark. I've made it several times following the 2o serving recipe and have a several things I changed to fit my tastes. Depending on how many serving you want to prepare you should adjust your cook time. For 20 servings, you will only have to boil 30 minutes at the most to reduce it by 1/3. I boiled the tomatoes until the skin cracked to help with peeling them. I doubled the cilantro because I love the flavor it gives the salsa. I used 4 large jalepeno peppers and 2 serrano peppers to get a nice medium heat. I did not use the bell peppers because if I wanted that kind of salsa I'd just buy a jar of Pace. I also didn't use 1/2 head of garlic. Just use maybe a third of it. I made this once and it had no heat at all. I figured out that I accidentally put the peppers in when I first started boiling the tomato mixture. If you do that it'll cook all the heat out of the peppers. It'll smell hot as fire, but actually be kind of sweet tasting. If the salsa is too "soupy" for your taste try saving 1/4 of the tomato chunks that you prepared at the beginning to throw in with your peppers towards the end of the cooking cycle. I hope this will help others learn from my mistakes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
This is soooo good. It made the whole house smell wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
This is great! The neighbors and I are making our second batch. Modified by substituting apple cider vinegar and white sugar since it was what I had on hand. I also did not add the water and cornstarch. Instead, I let the sauce cook about 3.5 hours until it reduced. The flavors are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Finally, a salsa recipe worth making! As close to and better than the store bought salsa's. I also tweaked it a bit....a little less sugar, chopped cayenne and used Early Girl, Roma, and Sun Gold cherry tomatoes. Yum....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This recipe was delicious. One thing I would caution about is the time it takes to prepare this recipe. It took me an entire day, granted I canned the salsa. I also changed a few things in the recipe...I seeded my jalepenos and boiled my veggies in the tomato sauce for 30 minutes before adding my diced tomatoes. I ended up with a delicous chuncky salsa that I will be proud to serve at any get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Best Salsa Recipe I've found. I like many others tweeked it a little...but only a little. I added 1 cup fresh lime juice with zest and 1/2 cup diced carrots (for crunch). It was really, really wonderful! I am thrilled to have found a salsa at last that is worth all the time and effort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I have made this recipe for 3 years now, and all of my family enjoys receiving it as Christmas presents!! I am able to make a "Hot" recipe, as well as a "Mild" recipe. It is simply the best salsa we have ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I've made this recipe about 4 times now. Everytime it has worked great. Salsa is thick and clings to the chips. My family and guests just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States