Salsa Ninety Nine (Mild) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Sooo tasty! It seemed really spicy when I tasted it during cooking, but after canning, it's extremely mild. I gave the veggies a quick whirl in the food processor, and it ended up with the taste and texture of the salsa/hot sauce served at Taco Time (a chain in western Washington). The salsa seems to be universally loved by kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
First time making salsa and I LOVED this recipe! For me it was very time consuming but well worth the work. The only changes that I had, I felt that I didn't have enough bell pepper so I added in some hot banana peppers. This is one of those foods that you can't stop eating once you start! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I loved this combination of ingredients. The Cilantro is the key ingredient to making this fresh and authentic tasting Salsa. I prefer a less spicy Salsa and this is perfect! I changed the technique a bit. After I skinned my tomatoes I run through a blender to make the consistency of crushed tomatoes. I then followed the rest as directed. Now I have the perfect taste and consistency. I half the recipe and it makes about 10 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Wow, sooo good! I used mostly Romas fresh from the garden. Only 1 head of garlic, 2 bunches cilantro, about 10 huge jalapenos, half w/ seeds, 3 T salt, which was plenty, no sugar and added juice of 2 limes. Everything else is right on and the texture is perfect and it's pretty spicy the way I love it. Oh, and I did chop everything but 3/4 of the tomatoes in the food processor. Perfect!! My new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I halved this recipe and still got 15 jars of salsa. It is a great and simple recipe, albeit time consuming to peel, core and chop all those tomatoes, let alone the onion and pepppers! I made this recipe exactly as written and will make it again this way in future, but may add more chili, as per the author's suggestion as I was worried about ending up with a too hot salsa. We have already made great salsa eggs for breakfast with this and served with sour cream and tortilla chips to our friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Great recipe. I chopped all the tomatoes let them sit for an hour drained the juice off. Added the paste after it simmered for a while. stuck to the recipe after that, husband said he could see himself using it taste like Pase his fav brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Enderby, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I loved this recipe! I made a half batch and almost wish I had made a whole batch it's so delicious- but even with half I have enough canned salsa to last monthes! I used less jalapenos for a mild salsa, and pureed the onions and peppers as well so the only chunks are tomato chunks(for picky eaters in the house). I will be making this salsa again when I run out- perfect blend of flavors and wonderful texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I loved this salsa! My husband and I are huge salsa eaters, and this is the perfect recipe. I put the ingredients into my food processer before I simmer them for a less chunky texture. We also can this recipe so we can enjoy the fresh taste all year long. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farm_wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
We loved this salsa, and will make again! It does taste like the kind they serve in Mexican restaurants. We did 1/3 of a batch with 8 lbs. tomatoes. The other ingredient amounts we decreased accordingly, but used dried cilantro (about 1 T.) and white sugar. We didn't have a food mill, and like our salsa a little chunky, so I just cooked the tomatoes all cut up together about 1 hour (liquid and pieces). This worked fine. We don't mind a few seeds. Also... we only put the seeds of one of the jalapeños (1 of 5) in, and were glad we did... it was just the right amount of spice. YUM!!! This won't last long around here!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
We made this the other day and did exactly what it asked for and it turned out great!!! We have given jars to family and have them sent back empty, wanting more. Thank goodness the garden is producing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States