Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Love this salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Best homeade salsa I've ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Wonderful and flavorful salsa! We only used 4 jalapeños and only left one with seeds based on other reviews. I also included 4 seeded Anaheim peppers. We roasted the peppers and peeled them because we don't like the skin left on. We used 7 cloves of chopped garlic rather than the garlic powder and also added 1 Tbsp sugar. We boiled the salsa down to a thicker consistency and came up with 5 1/2 pints total. The picture makes this look much thicker than it actually is, so be advised. Well worth the work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Fresh salsa is the best and this recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is a fantastic base recipe that makes salsa with a consistency similar to salsa in a jar (rather than the typical homemade ones that are just chopped veggies w/ no sauciness). I scaled down the recipe and have made twice - both times only using red onion and omitting the white & yellow. I don't like onions, but understand they're needed in salsa, so I soaked my chopped red onion in water for 15 minutes to take out some of the sting, and then ended up boiling my salsa over an hour to get it a bit less runny which also helped the onions to blend in. My two batches were very different from one another due to the tomatoes I used in each (2nd batch was sweet due to many baby tomatoes used from the garden). This is easily my go-to recipe to use up garden tomatoes and please a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I am giving this five stars because I did not follow the recipe exactly. I used cherry tomatoes instead of roma (I had a butt load of them from my garden) the texture was off. I am guessing from using the cherry tomatoes. The taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I was glad to find this recipe, I have used it before but lost my copy. I also reduced the number of jalapeños, and got into habit of cooking longer. I will simmer it for 3 or 4 hrs. If the taste seems not quite right, add more cumin powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Very good, but way too many peppers. A five star recipe with the following modifications. I made some changes to simplify the process, and reduce the heat for a kid friendly version. All fresh ingredients (excepting tomatoes) are chopped coarsely in a food processor. I modified the ingredients to a single large jalapeño pepper and only a teaspoon of cayenne to satisfy the mild tastes of my family, and added minced garlic cloves. I put all ingredients into a large crock pot on high heat for 3 hours, and then mash in the pot with a potato masher. Remove the lid and leave on high to reduce the moisture level to the desired consistency. Mash once more to reduce any reminding large tomato pieces. Refrigerate portion to be consumed fresh, and can the rest while still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was my first experience making salsa and I am happy with the result. I read some of the other reviews and made a few modifications. I used one red onion and two Vidalia onions, I used 9 jalapeno peppers but only the seeds from 3 of the peppers, and I used 1/4 cup lime juice instead of lemon. This salsa still packs a little heat with just using the seeds from 3 peppers but it's not overwhelming. For me, this recipe made a gallon of salsa that I canned into pint jars. The only other suggestion I would make would be to wear gloves when chopping the jalapenos. I didn't and my fingers burned and hurt for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringgold, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cohutta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I made this salsa because jar salsa is hard to find in Costa Rica and I needed it for an enchilada recipe I was trying. I was really surprised how well this came out even though I made a few changes. Besides scaling it down to 8 servings, the changes I made were the addition of minced garlic, no cayenne because I did not have any and I did not cook it….I just used it uncooked. It was so good that this will now be my “go to” recipe when I need a salsa for chips or cooking! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamskape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States