Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Let me just say that This is an excellent recipe and it got rave reviews but I would suggest little changes to suit your personal tastes. It has a wonderful fresh flavor and mine was on the chunky side which everyone liked. The main modification that I made was the amount of Jalapenos. I listened to some other reviewers and used only 1/2 of a pound of jalapenos and the seeds from only 3 of them (it was about 12 jalapenos for the 1/2 pound). It was very spicy at that. 1/2 pound was just about right....spicy and just hot enough to be flavorful but not so hot that it is unbearable. It does leave a little burn on your tongue but I thought it was exactly right I don't think that anyone that I know could actually eat this concotion if you used the full pound of jalapenos and used the seeds as well. I would definitely suggest to start on the low side and add jalapenos as needed to your taste. Also, I followed this recipe exactly and measured out the tomatos, etc....It only made 3/4 of a gallon instead of 1 1/2 gallons that the recipe states. I didn't boil it very long either. My other substitution was lime juice for the lemon juice...I prefer the taste of lime. All in all, I loved this and have been asked to make someone a batch for Christmas. I will be keeping this recipe in a safe place. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is Kikiwood. I have found a variation that my family really likes. I now take the jalapenoes and roast them in a cast iron skillet until the skin is black. The skin then comes off easily and it gives the salsa a more complex flavor. I'm glad that everyone has been enjoying the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2001
WOW--what a salsa! I cut the recipe in half and canned it, and still had a bunch! Everyone who has eaten this has loved the fresh taste. I did use fewer jalepenos, because I used the seeds when I chopped them. Next time I think I will deseed some of them, and include more jalepenos for their great taste, but not all their spice. I also added more cilantro, because that's what our tastes like. I plan on passing this one out canned, and making more! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Wow, this recipe is HOT. It is the best as far as taste and consistency goes. I won't make anythin else. We had company from the Middle East and from Europe. I put this out with some chips and they(everybody) absoluetly loved it. They took the recipe back with them. I eliminated the powdered pepper and it was still too HOT! I added a large can of Pureed tomatoes and that toned it down and actually improved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
My husband & I make and can salsa every year with the vegetables from our garden. We have tried many recipes and this is the best by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I made this salsa with some adjustmennts I did not use thew cilantro because there was none availible also i used fresh garlic rather than the garlic powder. to make A mild salsa I did not use the pound of jalpeno peppers instead I used 1 TAblespoon chopped hot peppers and 1 can of chopped mild green chilies. This made A very tasty mild salsa that i greatly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This was my first experience making salsa and I am very pleased with the result. Great taste and texture. It is a little on the hot side. I used the full pound of jalepenos and seeded them all. Next time I will cut the amount in half. I will also wear gloves. The acid from the tomatoes and the jalopenos are killers on your hands!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This one is great and easy! You can adjust for your salsa tastes--I added more cilantro and lime juice in place of the lemon. I also just chopped all my tomatoes on the second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
This is the first time I have ever made salsa and I couldn't be more happier with how it turned out. I used the whole pound of jalapeno peppers, but only the seeds from two of them. My family and friends keep coming back for more! I have also frozen some to give away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
This is good, my picky daughter even eats it, well, she dips the chip in the juice. Alot of work, but a good way to use up those garden veges! Thanks Kiki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States