Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
The flavor and texture are great. I added half the amount of recommended jalepenos and did everything else as directed. It was still too hot! My husband and I like spicy food, and neither one of us could eat it. I added two cans of diced tomatoes and it was still too hot. If I had added the entire amount of recommended jalepenos, it would have burned out mouths for sure. Add the jalepenos one by one until you find what works for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
a little watery, but fresh and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Very tasty salsa. I was suprised at how simple that it was to make. Next time I might cut back on the cumin. Sensational!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acnujones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
We love a mild salsa. I followed directions but omitted all jalepeno peppers and substituted diced green chili's in their place. When I was done, I tasted it and felt like it needed a little more depth of flavor so I added about 2T. sugar and that did the trick. We couldn't get enough! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saratoga Springs, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This was REALLY good- but I'm giving it four stars because it is a bit runny, and I had to use less than half the jalapenos called for in the recipe. If I had used the full amount as directed, this would have been so hot it would have been inedible! And I like HOT food!! Besides being a bit runny, the flavor was GREAT, I will definitely make this again. I will also use FRESH garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I was lazy : ( Used 4 28 ounce cans of crushed tomatoes and 1 15 ounce can of diced tomatoes. YUM!! would have been better but didn't have cayenne. Made 8 pints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was a great recipe! I halved the recipe using fresh produce from my garden. In addition, I used half the amount of jalapenos, roasted them, and used almost all of the seeds. It was the perfect amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I use Hunt's canned diced fire-roasted tomatoes. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Yum! We doubled the chili powder for extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This salsa was very good, thumbs up from the whole family. BUT I only used 2 large hot peppers without seeds and it came out very hot! I think next time I'll cut the Cayenne in half and add more peppers without seeds. I think fresh garlic would also be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States