Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I followed exactly except to use lime juice instead of lemon. Add 1 Tbs sugar (a little secret ingredient I learned from a local Mexican neighbor) and Oh...wow... Fabulous salsa. I tripled the recipe and canned it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
A pound of jalapenos would make this extremely hot! I doubled the recipe and used 1 chili pepper instead of 2 lbs of jalapenos and it is hot enough for me. I also added a bell pepper and a bit of corn. Very good. I have 32 tomato plants in my garden this year and I think I will be using this recipe a lot. I'd give it 4.5 stars because of the extreme amount of jalapenos and because I like a bit more chunky vegetables in my salsa like corn and bell pepper, which I easily added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sherwood, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Loved this! I took the author's suggestion to roast the peppers in the oven before seeding and chopping and it was delicious. Also added less onion (only 3/4 of 1 yellow onion, no red, no white). Adjusted to 4 banana peppers and 9 jalepenos, as that is what we picked from our garden. PLENTY spicy for us. Lastly we added 2- 6oz. cans of no salt added tomato paste as we like a thicker consistency. Terrific starter recipe and easy to adapt to your family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Excellent! I doubled the recipe and cut down on the spice (I have young kids who love salsa) I ended up using, 1 tsp of Cayenne and 3 jalapenos (for a double batch) turned out to be a flavourful mild recipe - perfect for my kids. The double batch made 11 500ml jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hodgson668

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Very good. I used regular tomatoes from the garden. I did seed them first. I didn't cook it very long because it started to get juicy. We really liked this salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Whoa! First of all, I used about 1/4 of the jalapenos (no seeds) and this will be too hot for my family. Second, WAY too much cumin! This tastes more like chili than salsa! OK, time for me to go dump a ton of tomatoes into this thing to salvage it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is my first attempt at homemade salsa and it tastes great. I didn't start with 6 pounds of roma tomatoes. I worked backwards by coring, removing the seeds and draining the water to get to 6 pounds and it yielded close to 1.5 gallons. I used fresh garlic, lime juice as well and fresh minced cayenne peppers. Can't wait to make it again next summer only I will be prepared to can it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Excellent! This was my first time making homemade salsa, and this recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I used fresh garlic rather than powder, and omitted the red onion, however I'm sure it would have been great if added. The salsa is the perfect texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boston Chowda

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
It just tasted bad. I did exactly what it said to do, and still, no one liked it. This is coming from a family who hasn't met a salsa they don't like besides this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I was given 16lbs of tomatoes from friends and family and was wondering what I could possibly do with them all. Used 8lbs to make this and Im so glad. We go through salsa like no other at our house and this is way better then the fresh stuff we buy at the store. I love cilantro and garlic so I used a full bunch of cilantro and fresh garlic instead of powder. Used lime juice for lemon and only had a few jalapenos on hand so it doesnt quite have that strong kick I like, but my 2 year old loves it so I guess thats all that matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States