Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This salsa was awesome! Be sure to crush the tomatoes good and be careful as to how many jalapenos you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
HOT HOT HOT! We like hot food so this is good for us, but next time I might cut down the cayenne pepper and hope it's that much better. I didn't add the cumin or cilantro as I think I'm the only person on the planet that doesn't like cilantro, but still got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Excellent! This was my first time making salsa and it turned out perfect. I did make a few alterations though. I only used 3 lbs of peeled and crushed tomatoes. I did not drain them, but combined them with 1 can of Spaghetti sauce. I used 4 cloves of fresh garlic, instead of the powder. I added some fresh parsley in with the cilantro. I don't like things too spicy, so I only added 2 jalapeno peppers and included the seeds for one of the peppers. It was plenty hot for me! Also, I added 2 green bell peppers and 3 red bell peppers. I just chopped them up small and added them in with the onions. It looks exactly like store bought salsa, but tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Absolutely the best!!! I played with the ratio of ingredients a bit to our liking and canned a batch for this winter - yum!!! Thanks for sharing :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Tried salsa for the first time this weekend and used this recipe, LOVED IT!! Cut back on the jalapenos a bit, made one batch hotter than the other and also left out the cayenne as I felt the jalapenos would add enough heat. Also, added some fresh cut garlic and us.ed less garlic powder. Everyone loved it! I'll be making this every year! Already gave a few jars away to family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
boil for 20 min in the hot canning jars (which have been boiled for 20 min). With 1 tbsp of lime juice in each jar for small jars. I have yet to try them, this is just a preliminary note to myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I followed exactly except to use lime juice instead of lemon. Add 1 Tbs sugar (a little secret ingredient I learned from a local Mexican neighbor) and Oh...wow... Fabulous salsa. I tripled the recipe and canned it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
A pound of jalapenos would make this extremely hot! I doubled the recipe and used 1 chili pepper instead of 2 lbs of jalapenos and it is hot enough for me. I also added a bell pepper and a bit of corn. Very good. I have 32 tomato plants in my garden this year and I think I will be using this recipe a lot. I'd give it 4.5 stars because of the extreme amount of jalapenos and because I like a bit more chunky vegetables in my salsa like corn and bell pepper, which I easily added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sherwood, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Loved this! I took the author's suggestion to roast the peppers in the oven before seeding and chopping and it was delicious. Also added less onion (only 3/4 of 1 yellow onion, no red, no white). Adjusted to 4 banana peppers and 9 jalepenos, as that is what we picked from our garden. PLENTY spicy for us. Lastly we added 2- 6oz. cans of no salt added tomato paste as we like a thicker consistency. Terrific starter recipe and easy to adapt to your family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Excellent! I doubled the recipe and cut down on the spice (I have young kids who love salsa) I ended up using, 1 tsp of Cayenne and 3 jalapenos (for a double batch) turned out to be a flavourful mild recipe - perfect for my kids. The double batch made 11 500ml jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hodgson668

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States