Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Make this every year...it's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by demanette3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concordia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Nolensville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Everyone loved it! I was worried about the heat so I split the salsa in two batches and omitted the jalapenos in one batch just to be safe. I also skipped the cumin altogether. I liked the batch with jalapenos better. They add a very nice flavor. You can control the heat by omitting the seeds or only adding the seeds from a few peppers. The diced tomatoes definitely give the salsa a nice texture and fresh look. I will be making this again very soon and I plan on growing tomatoes this year so I can make salsa all summer! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Ok, this recipe is HOT!!!!!!!!!! And, I like some heat to most things so that is saying something. Just a couple of recommendations: 1. Double the salt 2. Cut the jalapeno and cayenne in half. If you do those two things u will have a salsa with just enough heat and just the right amount of salt. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Gore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was wonderful. I canned 4 quarts. My sisters and I will be canning a bunch of it this summer in tomato season. I made a few changes. I used chopped fresh garlic instead of powder. I used lime juice instead of lemon, and instead of a whole tablespoon of cayenne , I used a half tablespoon of cayenne and a half tablespoon of chipotle. Gave it a great smoky flavor. Thanks Kikiwood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Delicious salsa!! Followed the advice of some other posts, and cut it down to 1/2 lb of the jalepenos, and it just wasn't hot enough. Next time I will do the whole pound and maybe 2 habaneros. Wouldn't change anything about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was AMAZING! I cut the recipe down to third and only used a whole red onion to cut the onion portion. It still made plenty! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ademers1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This salsa was awesome! Be sure to crush the tomatoes good and be careful as to how many jalapenos you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
HOT HOT HOT! We like hot food so this is good for us, but next time I might cut down the cayenne pepper and hope it's that much better. I didn't add the cumin or cilantro as I think I'm the only person on the planet that doesn't like cilantro, but still got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Excellent! This was my first time making salsa and it turned out perfect. I did make a few alterations though. I only used 3 lbs of peeled and crushed tomatoes. I did not drain them, but combined them with 1 can of Spaghetti sauce. I used 4 cloves of fresh garlic, instead of the powder. I added some fresh parsley in with the cilantro. I don't like things too spicy, so I only added 2 jalapeno peppers and included the seeds for one of the peppers. It was plenty hot for me! Also, I added 2 green bell peppers and 3 red bell peppers. I just chopped them up small and added them in with the onions. It looks exactly like store bought salsa, but tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Absolutely the best!!! I played with the ratio of ingredients a bit to our liking and canned a batch for this winter - yum!!! Thanks for sharing :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States