Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I have to say that this is the best salsa that I have ever had. I did change a few things because of my family's taste. Instead of so many jalapenos, I just used four, instead of 3 onions I used 1 yellow onion ad 5 green onions. Also, I have a HUGE crop of Pink Brandy-wine tomatoes so I used those, and this complimented their super rich tomato flavor. I have made 2 batches in 2 days. Took it for Saturday Dinner at my family's and everyone couldn't get enough THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentone, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin8449
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Really great recipe! And easy too! I just made this salsa with all the Roma tomatoes from my garden and it came out great. I decided to forgo the cayenne pepper and only used the seeds from about half the jalapenos - the level of spiciness was perfect for my tastes. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Excellent flavor. Sweet at first taste and then just enough heat to follow it up. Jars have kept VERY WELL over the winter. This will be my go to recipe this next harvest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I have made this recipe several times. With and without the jalapeno. Both are excellent. I use this mostly as a good way to get my veggies in on a daily basis so therefore no jalapeno. But when I made for a party, yes to jalapeno. I buy discounted tomatoes because they are always very ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My family thought this was too sweet. More like spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Great recipe that I used to can all of our garden tomatoes. I'm pretty sure I didn't use the amount of jalepeno it called for, I just eyeballed it and used what I thought would add enough spice but still have my kids eating it. Everyone who has had this (adults and children) has really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
The best salsa of the many i have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
BEST SALSA EVER! I've been making salsa for years but this is the best I've ever had/made. I canned it. Used lime juice instead of lemon. Used chipotle pepper instead of the cayenne. Jalapenos to taste. For a mild batch (for kids) I didn't add jalapenos at all and they loved it! Great smoky flavor with the chipotle. Will be tossing out my old recipes and keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This was excellent. I made a half batch and canned it. I used lime juice instead of lemon. I didn't use any cayenne pepper or cumin because I didn't have those on hand, but I did use just a dash of smoked paprika. I used 2 garlic cloves instead of powered garlic. I used only white onion because that's all I had on hand. I used about twice the amount of fresh cilantro it called for and thought it could use a bit more of that even. I didn't put any jalapenos seed or membranes in it so that it wouldn't be too hot. I gave them 25 minutes in a hot water bath to can them. It was just perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Best salsa I have ever had! I used some organic heirloom tomatoes instead of roma tomatoes, and also omitted the red pepper and added fresh cayenne peppers instead. I also followed the recommendation to roast the peppers before adding them, and it was delicious! I canned about 10 jars, and my only regret is that I didn't make more. Will definitely be making next year as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States