Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Great recipe, so easy to make adjustsments for personal tastes. Try substituting bell peppers for a sweet variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This is a great basic recipe for salsa. I made a few minor changes to suit my taste and to use up some veggies from my garden, and it turned out great!! This is a must-have recipe if you are a salsa fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I can only assume the other reviewers know something i don't. I only used 1/2lb japalenos per other reviews. Only used the seeds from one of them per other reviews, and ended up with a bowl full of excruciatingly hot, flavorless, inedible slop. So i'm willing to accept that i must have done something wrong, but the recipe is so simple i just can't imagine what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Again half the jalapenos but I have kids to share it with - otherwise i'd have gone the full-fledged route!;) Loved it. I'm gonna try to can it this season so I'll have it all year long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomeroy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This is fantastic! I followed the advice of other reviewers and used 1/2 lb of jalapenos with the seeds from three, used fresh yellow and red tomatoes from my garden, cut back on the cayenne and salt just a bit, and used lime juice instead of lemon. This has a fantastic flavor, I canned most of it...hopefully it won't kill me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Good, fresh salsa recipe. Personally, I wish I hadn't followed the recommendations to cut down the jalepenos and seeds so much because it ended up not being very hot, but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Awesome! First recipe I've actually rated/reviewed from AllRecipes! Nearly perfect as is, but I did follow the suggestion from other reviewers to use only 1/2lb of jalapenos and seeds from only 3 of them. The spice level is perfect now. I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have been able to eat it had I used more than that. This is just the type of salsa I was hoping for...a smoother restaurant style salsa instead of the chunky stuff. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
WOW - this was amazing! I halved the recipe as I don't need a gallon of salsa, cut back on the peppers a bit and only used white onions. I did boil the tomatoes to help remove the skin but otherwise put everything in the blender to puree it. Super Yummy! You can't go wrong however you adjust the main recipe so have fun and experiment!!! I served it with the 'Baked Tortilla Chips' recipe which were delicious. Again, adjusted this recipe to only use oil, lime juice and salt. Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
HOLY SMOKES! This is so hot! This is the only reason I gave it 4 stars. My hubby loves spicy, so it was great for him. This was a little too spicy for me! But if you're going for quantity this is the recipe. This made a TON of salsa. The only thing I did different was to add a bunch of green onions, a teaspoon of coriander. I didn't bother boiling any of the tomatoes. Just used my food processor. Super easy, and really good. I would just take out the cayenne and a few of the peppers next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Only gave this one four stars because it is waaaay too hot!! And I only used 4 jalapenos and the seeds of just one. Anyone who likes a medium or mild salsa-reduce cayanne and jalapenos!! Otherwise this is great and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States