Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is so good, and better than anything you can buy in a jar. I followed the recipe to a tee other than adding a 1/2 tsp. cumin. We used it as a dip with tortilla chips. 5 stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This sauce is wonderful and unbelievably EASY! I made a couple of adjustments, but the recipe still deserves 5 stars. I added extra cilantro because I love the taste. I also didn't have jalapeno peppers on hand, so I used 2 Tbsp of canned chopped mild green chiles. I ate this sauce with my tortilla chips, and I used it in the Sour Cream Chicken Enchilada recipe by Brenda on this site. It tasted exactly like my favorite enchiladas! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I made this last night and it was very good, I didn't measure anything just kind of eyeballed it and it still came out great! Salsa verde is my favorite on tacos, nachos, burritos and now I can make my own. I used mine on salmon and tilapia tacos and it was lovely. Thank you for such a simple a delicious recipe. Will be making all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I didnt have jalapano or green peppers but I did have 2 medium heat pablano's, so I used those in place, and it came out fantastic. My guests scarfed this down so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I've made this recipe exactly as written a dozen times...Consistently Fantastic. This year I grew my own tomatillos and jalapenos...Nummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaGrillGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This makes wonderful salsa. I had never cooked with tomatillos before, but wanted a fresh green salsa to go with enchiladas I was making (Chicken Enchiladas II from this site). I used 2 jalapeños, seeded and ribs removed as we don’t like food very hot. I used less water, just enough to cover the tomatillos in the pan, and 2 garlic cloves. I have never tasted better green salsa. And, a tip I learned for selecting tomatillos, choose the smaller ones as they can get bitter if they get too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This salsa was great. I forgot to add the cilantro and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I used only 1 jalapeno pepper for kidlet's sake. Tasted recipe as is but made the salsa for "Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce." Perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is a really good salsa. I added a bit of lime juice other than that made it to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States