Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I didnt have jalapano or green peppers but I did have 2 medium heat pablano's, so I used those in place, and it came out fantastic. My guests scarfed this down so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I've made this recipe exactly as written a dozen times...Consistently Fantastic. This year I grew my own tomatillos and jalapenos...Nummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaGrillGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This makes wonderful salsa. I had never cooked with tomatillos before, but wanted a fresh green salsa to go with enchiladas I was making (Chicken Enchiladas II from this site). I used 2 jalapeños, seeded and ribs removed as we don’t like food very hot. I used less water, just enough to cover the tomatillos in the pan, and 2 garlic cloves. I have never tasted better green salsa. And, a tip I learned for selecting tomatillos, choose the smaller ones as they can get bitter if they get too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This salsa was great. I forgot to add the cilantro and it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I used only 1 jalapeno pepper for kidlet's sake. Tasted recipe as is but made the salsa for "Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce." Perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is a really good salsa. I added a bit of lime juice other than that made it to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Great recipe! I work in the restaurant industry and my chef let me take home a bunch of tomatillos, so I thought I try my hand at salsa. I wasn't sure about this recipe but decided to give it a try, I'm glad I did. I can't wait to try this over some shredded chicken enchiladas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Yum!!! I just added a bit of salt and a dab more cilantro (I'm a cilantro junkie) and it was ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I thought this recipe was quite good, but after I made a few alterations to it. I initially made the recipe as directed, but found it a bit too tart. (Yes, I know tomatillos are generally more tart, but this was even more so.) So we added about half a lime's worth of juice and a 1/2 teaspoon sugar. This cut the bitterness nice and made it a very good tomatillo salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curly girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States