Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
My DH fixed this over the weekend, he did use a little extra garlic and cilantro but did not seed the peppers, it is fantastic! It really tastes authentic and we are thrilled. Going to fix Andy's Spicy Green Chile Pork with this recipe next, it can't miss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Delicious...perfect amount of slight spice and zesty flavor. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
3.5 stars. The taste of the onions was a bit overwhelming for me and I did not add the entire amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
wasnt the best tomatillo sauce ive tried but good and simple to make ..great on chilaquiles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Absolutely hands down my favorite salsa. I did add a tsp of lime juice, but other than that followed the recipe to a T. Muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Great easy salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACOBRAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Animas, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I made this pretty much as the recipe instructed. I tweaked it a little adding more jalapenos and garlic for some added flavor and heat. Delicious and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Schmidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Wow!! This was awesome in flavor, texture and sight. I added a medium sized white onion instead of small and added a serrano chili to one jalapeno chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
used over chicken, it was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Awesome sauce! I decided to make chilaquiles with this recipe. I made some changes though. SAUCE: I used 3 large serrano peppers for spice and 7 dried chiles de arbol (no stems) instead of the jalapenos. I boiled the tomatillos, chiles and garlic cloves until the tomatillos changed color. I dont like to leave them too long because it gives the sauce a bitter taste. So I dont let them burst. After boiling everything for a few minutes, I put the following into the food processor: Tomatillos, chiles, garlic cloves, a handful of cilantro leaves (no stems), 1/4 onion and a tsp of knorr bouillon (moms secret ingredient). CHILAQUILES: After the sauce is done I put a tbsp of oil in a pan and throw the sauce in. After the sauce begins to simmer a bit I turn the heat down and add tortilla chips. Restaurant style chips w/salt are great for this recipe. I dont mix anything at that point. I just make sure the sauce covers the chips untill the chips begin to soften. The trick is to not the the chips get too mushy but not too hard. After that simmers a little you can add rotisserie chicken on top and serve with cheese and sour cream. I personally like a fried egg on top. You can also do this with any leftover sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States