Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This was a really good salsa. I gave it four stars because I still felt the need to add some smoked Tabasco to the finished product, even after leaving it in the fridge for a few hours. We used the recommendation of the author and mixed it with shredded chicken, poured over tortilla chips, topped with cheese and popped it under the broiler for a few minutes. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I lost my recipe for tomatillo salsa so used this it was really good. I some times blend in an avacado and it goes great with taquitos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I tried this and it is wonderful. I followed the directions exactly like the recipe called for. My Friends from Mexico who love authentic Mexican food thought it was great and ate what I gave them in a few miutes with their supper. We ate it on chicken tacos. I'll make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ana
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This is actually, the exact same way my mom makes salsa de tomatillo, it is fabulous indeed, although no matter what, mine is never as good as hers. :D besides the cilantro you can add chopped scallions. depending on what you are going to do with it you can increase the amount of jalapeños to make it hotter, for example two jalapeños are fine when you are going to make enchiladas or chilaquiles, but if you are going to serve this with tacos or chips you may want to add a couple more jalapeños. you can also add a can of tomato puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
love it..love it..its a great recipe..you can always change this or that depending on your taste. Ive been looking for this recipe for a while now..they serve this salsa at a local mexican resturant..and i can never get enough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Great recipe. Here's my additions and observations: Two things that always jazz up my salsa recipes and work well for this one too... add 1 teaspoon to 1 tablespoon sugar - depending on taste, and a squirt or two of lime juice. Without this recipe I would not have ever thought about cooking the tomatillos first, I have always used them raw. This gives a distinctly different flavor - better I think - but if in a hurry, chopped raw works well, too. I am a cilantro addict! 1/4 cup would NEVER be enough for me. Also, I like things hot, so I would PERSONALLY add more jalapenos, but most of the people I serve at home are not in my category. Be careful in serving things to spicy to those who cannot handle them well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Absolutely wonderful receipe; but for "Baja style" (our favorite) add the juice of 1/2 of a fresh lime when using 6 tomatillos and the juice of a whole fresh lime if using 10 tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I liked this recipe, but it good mixed reviews at the party I took it to. The less "Foody" people wouldn't try it. Those who did thought it tasted like pickles. However, my friend who is a Chef and his food-oriented vegetarian wife loved it. I guess it depends on the crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Much easier than I thought it would be and a nice change from my usual fare. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Centro, California, USA
Living In: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Wow! Incredibly delcious! I added a Poblano pepper to this, and used three canned jalapenos because the store was completly out of fresh! I was surprised. Nonetheless, this turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States