Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
love it..love it..its a great recipe..you can always change this or that depending on your taste. Ive been looking for this recipe for a while now..they serve this salsa at a local mexican resturant..and i can never get enough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Great recipe. Here's my additions and observations: Two things that always jazz up my salsa recipes and work well for this one too... add 1 teaspoon to 1 tablespoon sugar - depending on taste, and a squirt or two of lime juice. Without this recipe I would not have ever thought about cooking the tomatillos first, I have always used them raw. This gives a distinctly different flavor - better I think - but if in a hurry, chopped raw works well, too. I am a cilantro addict! 1/4 cup would NEVER be enough for me. Also, I like things hot, so I would PERSONALLY add more jalapenos, but most of the people I serve at home are not in my category. Be careful in serving things to spicy to those who cannot handle them well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Absolutely wonderful receipe; but for "Baja style" (our favorite) add the juice of 1/2 of a fresh lime when using 6 tomatillos and the juice of a whole fresh lime if using 10 tomatillos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I liked this recipe, but it good mixed reviews at the party I took it to. The less "Foody" people wouldn't try it. Those who did thought it tasted like pickles. However, my friend who is a Chef and his food-oriented vegetarian wife loved it. I guess it depends on the crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Much easier than I thought it would be and a nice change from my usual fare. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Centro, California, USA
Living In: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Wow! Incredibly delcious! I added a Poblano pepper to this, and used three canned jalapenos because the store was completly out of fresh! I was surprised. Nonetheless, this turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Perfect with beef carnitas, with chips, and also with eggs! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
So absolutely sad that I didn't have this wonderful recipe for the past 30 years. Now I am old with hardly anyone to appreciate it but myself. LOL. I used fresh ingredients except for the cilantro leaves (ground some coriander seed with the old trusty mortar and pestle), and used between 1/4 and 1/2 tsp. I shook in a touch of garlic powder since I had only used three garlic cloves and that wasn't quite enough. I may add a little lime juice after it refrigerates for a few hours. BEST green salsa I've ever had; will definitely make it a staple. Thanks much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Didn't work for our family, we apparently aren't cilantro lovers. It was way too overpowering. I will continue searching for green hot sauce recipes. If I make it again, I will use dried cilantro, very little of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Thanks, Sandy, this is a great basic recipe. My husband and teenage kids love it. It is excellent with enchiladas, and I can't wait to try it with fish as another reviewer mentioned. It would also be great with pork loin or chops. I even want to try it on burgers. We love enchiladas verdes made with this salsa and it also is great with tortilla chips as a dip. I had bushels of tomatillos from my garden, and I sure used up a lot of them making this salsa for my family to eat with their chips. I do tweak it a little now, I add only one jalapeno (my kids don't want it too spicy) and I also add 1/4 teaspoon of ground coriander (cilantro seeds) and the juice of one lime. Once when I didn't have enough cilantro I added fresh parsley from the garden, which worked out very well, but I still like all cilantro better. I use the smallest onion I have, because the raw onion flavor can overpower it sometimes. Instead of yellow onion, next time I will use a sweet vidalia onion and see if that makes a difference. Also the jalapenos should be green. I used ripe red jalapenos from the garden once, and not only are they hotter but they don't have that fresh green 'grassy' flavor, which adds a lot to the salsa. Looking forward to trying it with nachos, too! Muy bueno y delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States