Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Great recipe! I work in the restaurant industry and my chef let me take home a bunch of tomatillos, so I thought I try my hand at salsa. I wasn't sure about this recipe but decided to give it a try, I'm glad I did. I can't wait to try this over some shredded chicken enchiladas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Yum!!! I just added a bit of salt and a dab more cilantro (I'm a cilantro junkie) and it was ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I thought this recipe was quite good, but after I made a few alterations to it. I initially made the recipe as directed, but found it a bit too tart. (Yes, I know tomatillos are generally more tart, but this was even more so.) So we added about half a lime's worth of juice and a 1/2 teaspoon sugar. This cut the bitterness nice and made it a very good tomatillo salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curly girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe is great. But it is not 5 stars because I had to adjust it a little. I doubled the amount of jalapenos and garlic to 4 each. I took out all the seeds and veins from the peppers. I added a few splashes of fresh lime juice (about the juice of 1/4 lime). I added more cilantro. (We love it at my house.) Lastly, I left mine a little bit chunkier then in the pictures because we ate it with chips. It was really, really good! It tasted great right away and even better after it sat out for about a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Timmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Yum. Why chop anything? Just throw it all in the food processor. Used 1 lg can of tomatillos - about 16.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Loved this, added sugar to balance taste a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Super easy and adjustable. I got a pound of tomatillas in my CSA box and a bunch of cilantro so I used the search to find a recipe that used both. I landed on this one and guessed on measure because some of the tomatillas were twice the size as others and I only had 9. Wish the recipe included directions for the prepping before simmering the tomatillas as I'd never worked with them before. I husked them and washed them with LemonBrite (I wash almost all my produce) and then put them to cook. Took it to a party with some authentic tortilla chips and made it mild by seeding & ribbing the jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Roasting the tomatillos results in a much thicker salsa with the added flavor from roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This was a really good salsa. I gave it four stars because I still felt the need to add some smoked Tabasco to the finished product, even after leaving it in the fridge for a few hours. We used the recommendation of the author and mixed it with shredded chicken, poured over tortilla chips, topped with cheese and popped it under the broiler for a few minutes. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I lost my recipe for tomatillo salsa so used this it was really good. I some times blend in an avacado and it goes great with taquitos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States