Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I've always included fresh Mexican oregano and cumin when I make tomatillo salsa and was interested in the comparison without. While I did like this, I found it just a little dull for my tastes, so now I know I do prefer tomatillo salsa enhanced with the additions of cumin and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
OK.....but mine had a very bitter aftertaste. I added a teaspoon of sugar the next day and that helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Very good recipe and very easy! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I love green salsa. My hispanic neighbors came over a few times to help me get everything right. One thing they mentioned: add one avocado. WOW! It went from a 3.5 to a 5 star after I added the avocado. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Wow. I just adjusted the amount of jalapeño for the level of heat I desired, and this recipe was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Lake Heights, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is the first time I have cooked with tomatillos. I am a big fan now. Great salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lori010993

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Made this exactly as stated....husband loved!!!! We will be eating with chips and over tamales on Christmas eve. Delicious and pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is absolutely awesome...just like my favorite Mexican Restaurant serves on their salsa bar. Delicious with chips. You can make it hotter if you want to by adding more jalapeno chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granny annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P.Smith
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is so good, and better than anything you can buy in a jar. I followed the recipe to a tee other than adding a 1/2 tsp. cumin. We used it as a dip with tortilla chips. 5 stars and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P.Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This sauce is wonderful and unbelievably EASY! I made a couple of adjustments, but the recipe still deserves 5 stars. I added extra cilantro because I love the taste. I also didn't have jalapeno peppers on hand, so I used 2 Tbsp of canned chopped mild green chiles. I ate this sauce with my tortilla chips, and I used it in the Sour Cream Chicken Enchilada recipe by Brenda on this site. It tasted exactly like my favorite enchiladas! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States