Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe is great. But it is not 5 stars because I had to adjust it a little. I doubled the amount of jalapenos and garlic to 4 each. I took out all the seeds and veins from the peppers. I added a few splashes of fresh lime juice (about the juice of 1/4 lime). I added more cilantro. (We love it at my house.) Lastly, I left mine a little bit chunkier then in the pictures because we ate it with chips. It was really, really good! It tasted great right away and even better after it sat out for about a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Timmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Yum. Why chop anything? Just throw it all in the food processor. Used 1 lg can of tomatillos - about 16.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Loved this, added sugar to balance taste a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Super easy and adjustable. I got a pound of tomatillas in my CSA box and a bunch of cilantro so I used the search to find a recipe that used both. I landed on this one and guessed on measure because some of the tomatillas were twice the size as others and I only had 9. Wish the recipe included directions for the prepping before simmering the tomatillas as I'd never worked with them before. I husked them and washed them with LemonBrite (I wash almost all my produce) and then put them to cook. Took it to a party with some authentic tortilla chips and made it mild by seeding & ribbing the jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Roasting the tomatillos results in a much thicker salsa with the added flavor from roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This was a really good salsa. I gave it four stars because I still felt the need to add some smoked Tabasco to the finished product, even after leaving it in the fridge for a few hours. We used the recommendation of the author and mixed it with shredded chicken, poured over tortilla chips, topped with cheese and popped it under the broiler for a few minutes. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I lost my recipe for tomatillo salsa so used this it was really good. I some times blend in an avacado and it goes great with taquitos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I tried this and it is wonderful. I followed the directions exactly like the recipe called for. My Friends from Mexico who love authentic Mexican food thought it was great and ate what I gave them in a few miutes with their supper. We ate it on chicken tacos. I'll make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ana
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This is actually, the exact same way my mom makes salsa de tomatillo, it is fabulous indeed, although no matter what, mine is never as good as hers. :D besides the cilantro you can add chopped scallions. depending on what you are going to do with it you can increase the amount of jalapeños to make it hotter, for example two jalapeños are fine when you are going to make enchiladas or chilaquiles, but if you are going to serve this with tacos or chips you may want to add a couple more jalapeños. you can also add a can of tomato puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
love it..love it..its a great recipe..you can always change this or that depending on your taste. Ive been looking for this recipe for a while now..they serve this salsa at a local mexican resturant..and i can never get enough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States