Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
This was excellent! I didn't change a thing. If you desire more heat then you can add more jalapeno peppers, but do so in small amounts - don't want it too hot! Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
This was so good, and incredibly easy! We had it on both tacos and chili rellanos. The tomatillos give it a wonderful fresh citrus taste taste. Much lighter and fresher tasting than the commercial tomato-based salsas. Low cal / low fat, too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This was a good start but needs more jalapenos. Mine did not even have a little heat using just the two peppers. I will use 4 seeded fresh ones next time. I layered grilled chicken, flour tortillas, monterrey jack cheese and this sauce and baked covered for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Very easy to make. I followed the instructions exactly and it turned out great! This is not a particularly spicy recipe but it is very good. We make this a lot during the summer and never seem to tire of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This is a great fresh salsa. Those who want to mellow the pepper taste could blanch the peppers with the tomatillos. I would recommend letting it sit for several hours at room temperature before eating. Also, it freezes quite well. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I gave this three stars, because I'm not sure if maybe I just don't like tomatillos. But I didn't like the recipe at all as a dip for chips. A bit on the sour side, and not a lot of flavor. Maybe adding more garlic, onion, and cilantro would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2003
I added sour cream and avocado when blending. It was very good but I didn't care for it before the add ons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Made for 75 people and should have made 100 copies of the recipe. People loved it. Served with the new Avacado chips. Great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
YUM, nice & spicy, well at least with the pepper that I used (I didn't de-seed it). Yum, I used this in "Amy's cilantro cream sauce" (from this site) and it was great in that as well. Thank you Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This was good but not great, next time I will serve with tortilla chips and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States