Salsa Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
This is a fairly easy recipe to put together. I enjoyed the the kick from the tomatoes and chiles, not a favorite of the kids, a good soup for adult taste buds. Will make again for a family dinner with pepper cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2000
This is a good substantial chowder. Perfect hearty dinner on a snowy day, served with pepper bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
My husband is not a soup guy, & when he asks me to make it again, I know it must have been good soul food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This recipe was a perfect candidate for my crock pot once I sauteed the peppers and onions. I served the chowder in fresh-out-of-the-oven sourdough boules, and it was a meal fit for a king!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This soup is wonderful. The only thing I might try next time is to puree most or all of the soup before putting in the corn. Wonderful taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Good recipe. I have cooked it both in a pot and in a crock pot good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Very yummy and spicy. Pleased everyone greatly and I still had a lot of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I was real excited when I made this in my crock-pot as one of the other reviewers suggested. I left it on high for about 2 hours and then on low until it was eaten up - about 1 hour later! I also added a can of creamy corn soup that I had purchased before I found this recipe. I don't know how much of a difference that made - but the soup was wonderful I doubled it for 8 people - we had 9 ladies over & it was almost completely eaten - everyone loved it - and it was such a simple soup to make too! Note: we still make this regularly and I don't add the soup in. I always make it in the crockpot and it always turns out delicious. I have found a lime cilantro salsa that gives the soup a delicious taste! If I do that, I use tomatoes with herbs or plain instead of with the chile peppers and it turns into a nice sweet soup - perfect as a side dish with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I usually refrain from reviewing/rating a recipe I've not used much, but this one turned out SO fantastically I just had to. I took it to a soup dinner and had comments from EVERYBODY who ate it, and most of them asked for the recipe (including one who is lactose-intolerant). A big crowd pleaser, and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and it was pretty good. Next time I might add jalepenos or a spicier salsa for extra zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States