Salsa Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
This is a fairly easy recipe to put together. I enjoyed the the kick from the tomatoes and chiles, not a favorite of the kids, a good soup for adult taste buds. Will make again for a family dinner with pepper cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2000
This is a good substantial chowder. Perfect hearty dinner on a snowy day, served with pepper bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
My husband is not a soup guy, & when he asks me to make it again, I know it must have been good soul food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This recipe was a perfect candidate for my crock pot once I sauteed the peppers and onions. I served the chowder in fresh-out-of-the-oven sourdough boules, and it was a meal fit for a king!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This soup is wonderful. The only thing I might try next time is to puree most or all of the soup before putting in the corn. Wonderful taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Good recipe. I have cooked it both in a pot and in a crock pot good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Very yummy and spicy. Pleased everyone greatly and I still had a lot of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I was real excited when I made this in my crock-pot as one of the other reviewers suggested. I left it on high for about 2 hours and then on low until it was eaten up - about 1 hour later! I also added a can of creamy corn soup that I had purchased before I found this recipe. I don't know how much of a difference that made - but the soup was wonderful I doubled it for 8 people - we had 9 ladies over & it was almost completely eaten - everyone loved it - and it was such a simple soup to make too! Note: we still make this regularly and I don't add the soup in. I always make it in the crockpot and it always turns out delicious. I have found a lime cilantro salsa that gives the soup a delicious taste! If I do that, I use tomatoes with herbs or plain instead of with the chile peppers and it turns into a nice sweet soup - perfect as a side dish with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I usually refrain from reviewing/rating a recipe I've not used much, but this one turned out SO fantastically I just had to. I took it to a soup dinner and had comments from EVERYBODY who ate it, and most of them asked for the recipe (including one who is lactose-intolerant). A big crowd pleaser, and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and it was pretty good. Next time I might add jalepenos or a spicier salsa for extra zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States