Salsa Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I added 1 chicken breast (chopped), LOTS of spicy peppers, replaced half the corn with creamed corn, and the BEST addition was a can of black beans, rinsed/drained. Then I cooked it to smitherenes~ the husband and I polished it off in one lazy day of movie watching! WONDERFUL recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I think this idea has potential, but as is it was just okay-not much kick considering the zestiness inferred by the name. I added a partial jalapebno to the onion at the beginning and followed the blender recommendations of others before adding the corn and salsa. I actually liked the flavor of the soup better previous to adding the last four ingredients. It seemed a peculiar method of thickening both with flour roux and a hefty amount of cream cheese; I'm not sure that the extra calories from that addition were worth it. Perhaps more hot pepper and whole tomatoes at the end would make this a little more substantive and satisfying, as it seemed rather scant amount of vegetables also (I doubled the corn). Do make a fresh bread to accompany, as it is the saving grace, and quite tasty when dipped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
excellent quick soup! i used 4 ears of fresh corn -- delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I have made this for many different people and it gets rave reviews every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This recipe is a winner. i have served this to over twenty differnt friends in the past two months and everyone said it was amazing. i did take advise from other reviews and pureed two cups of the soup after it had simmered before the corn and salsa. i also added more corn and tomatos to feed more people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
absolutely divine...my kind of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCM

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This chowder did not fit my expectation of a chowder. Although the taste is nice it is just a bit too thin for my taste. However, I will reheat tonight and try to add some corn starch to thicken it to my tastes. Very simple to prepare though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and it was pretty good. Next time I might add jalepenos or a spicier salsa for extra zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I usually refrain from reviewing/rating a recipe I've not used much, but this one turned out SO fantastically I just had to. I took it to a soup dinner and had comments from EVERYBODY who ate it, and most of them asked for the recipe (including one who is lactose-intolerant). A big crowd pleaser, and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I was real excited when I made this in my crock-pot as one of the other reviewers suggested. I left it on high for about 2 hours and then on low until it was eaten up - about 1 hour later! I also added a can of creamy corn soup that I had purchased before I found this recipe. I don't know how much of a difference that made - but the soup was wonderful I doubled it for 8 people - we had 9 ladies over & it was almost completely eaten - everyone loved it - and it was such a simple soup to make too! Note: we still make this regularly and I don't add the soup in. I always make it in the crockpot and it always turns out delicious. I have found a lime cilantro salsa that gives the soup a delicious taste! If I do that, I use tomatoes with herbs or plain instead of with the chile peppers and it turns into a nice sweet soup - perfect as a side dish with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States