Salsa Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This soup is awesome!!! Granted, I did make several changes and additions after reading the reviews. I doubled the recipe, added about three to four small yukon gold potatoes (diced and boiled). I pureed about a cup of the potato/pepper/celery mixture to thicken it up a bit. I also added a can of drained and rinsed black beans and extra salsa (hot) to taste to give it more kick. It would probably be great if you wanted to add a meat (like shredded chicken or sausage) but I like to feed my family at least one vegetarian meal a week, and this is very tasty without the meat. Will definitely be adding this to my fall/winter soup rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Very yummy. Per other reviews I omitted a little of the milk to make it less liquidy. It had great flavor and no other changes were needed. I also added garlic. Yummy. Thank you. very easy to make too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Thanks! I made this just as written. It was very easy to make and had lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
this was delicious, but i dont know if i did something wrong or what but my chowder was a little on the runny side but otherwise was good, i just need to make a couple of tweeks of my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lapwai, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Thought it was pretty good. I added extra vegetables and added cooked cubed potatoes as I like my soups hearty. Thanks for the recipe, it is different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I also thought that the consistency was a little thin. The flavor, however, is fantastic, and my picky husband enjoyed it for the most part....I just have to figure out how to make the tomato chunks smaller. We think it would be really good with fajita chicken added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I could have eaten it all myself! I used chicken broth and hot salsa since I had it in my pantry. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISPLAYER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I added 1 chicken breast (chopped), LOTS of spicy peppers, replaced half the corn with creamed corn, and the BEST addition was a can of black beans, rinsed/drained. Then I cooked it to smitherenes~ the husband and I polished it off in one lazy day of movie watching! WONDERFUL recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I think this idea has potential, but as is it was just okay-not much kick considering the zestiness inferred by the name. I added a partial jalapebno to the onion at the beginning and followed the blender recommendations of others before adding the corn and salsa. I actually liked the flavor of the soup better previous to adding the last four ingredients. It seemed a peculiar method of thickening both with flour roux and a hefty amount of cream cheese; I'm not sure that the extra calories from that addition were worth it. Perhaps more hot pepper and whole tomatoes at the end would make this a little more substantive and satisfying, as it seemed rather scant amount of vegetables also (I doubled the corn). Do make a fresh bread to accompany, as it is the saving grace, and quite tasty when dipped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
excellent quick soup! i used 4 ears of fresh corn -- delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States