Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kirstin
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I was given this recipe for a semester-long class assignment in which I had to alter the recipe to have 33% less sodium, 33% less calories, and replace the white rice with a whole grain. I did this over 5 weeks, with a different test substitution. The successful substitutions included: brown rice, elimination of the mushroom soup and using a whole can of Campbell's healthy request chicken soup, reducing the cheese by one cup and using a 75% reduced fat cheddar cheese instead of the two types of cheese. The dish continued to be the favorite of the class after each substitution. Hope everyone tries these easy substitutions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Here's what I've done to make this recipe simpler. I put the chicken in the skillet with the onion and brown them both. I add the salsa and soups to the chicken and simmer till chicken is done. I make rice as normal. I mix the cheses right on the wax paper or parchment paper I shred it on. I layer as directed. Saves some pots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
719 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I only made two changes to this recipe, the first was I used a can of rotel instead of salsa and the second was that I mixed the rice and soup mixture together before layering. I put this together in the morning and than baked it in the afternoon, I covered it with reynolds non-stick foil and cooked it for 30 minutes removing the foil and baking for the last 10 minutes this keeps the cheese moist and stringy instead of crusty My whole family enjoyed this and it was even good the next day as leftovers in my husbands lunch This recipe is very adaptable you can make it as spicy your family likes. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
457 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is a great base recipe, but quite bland as written. I am rating this 3 stars based on modifcations to boost the flavor. HELPFUL HINTS: Saute your chicken with chicken taco seasonings and the chopped onion, set aside. Use prepared brown or spanish rice vs white rice. Added one can of minced ortega chilis, 1 tsp of minced garlic (such as Spice World) and 1 tsp of cumin to the soup (used healthy request/low sodium soup) mixture and then proceded to follow the directions. Substituted 1 cup of the Montery Jack for Pepper Jack cheese for an extra flavor boost. DEFINITELY much more flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
397 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I was looking for a quick dinner with the ingredients I had on hand and this far exceeded my expectations. I cut up the chicken first and browned it with some southwestern seasoning and the onions, some fresh minced garlic and a bell pepper that I sauteed. I also added some frozen corn to the soup/salsa mixture. I served it with some extra salsa, sour cream and dice jalapenos on the side. The whole family loved it and are looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Yummy. It has the potential for 5 stars. Definitely decrease the rice. I did decrease the rice and thought I could reduce it even more. I simmered some onions and garlic before adding the soup and salsa. I think you could add more salsa. I would mix it all together next time with cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This was pretty darn good! My husband even liked it, and he is the pickiest in the family. I did tweak it a little bit, but stuck to the basics: I sauteed the onion along with some bell pepper, celery, and minced garlic. Instead of doing the alternating layers, I put all of the rice in first, then the chicken, then the soup mixture, then the cheese. I also didn't use as much cheese as the recipe called for - I only used about a cup at the most. I took another reviewer's advice and covered it with foil for the first 30 minutes then uncovered for the remaining 10 minutes. It turned out great, with a bit of sour cream on top. I think I will make this again, and maybe add a can of corn and possibly some black beans. I also agree with another review that said this would be good as a filler for burritos. I think I'll try that today for lunch. :) Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This tasted really good. It is very similar to my mom's ckn & rice cass. except she doesn't use salsa. I made a couple of changes in order for this to work for me. First, I like to cook my chicken with flavor so I seasoned it with salt pepper and garlic powder.I then mixed the soups and rotel (didn't have salsa). I used this mixture instead of water to cook my chicken. I cooked it on medium stirring frequently so the mixture wouldn't scorch on the bottom. I removed the chicken and diced. I mixed all the rice and soup mixture together and then added the chicken. I topped it with cheese (I reduced the amount to save a few calories) and popped it into the oven. By the way, this recipe makes a ton. We will be having this for lunch today and dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was an easy but very satisfying meal. I too made the rice separate and combined and put into the oven. That was the only real change except cooking the onions with the chicken. If you don't the onions have a real crunch and are much stronger. I have made both ways and cooked onions is definitely the way to go with this one. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was good-I made a few changes...used one can of cream soup and one can of tomato soup. Used medium salsa. Browned chicken in olive oil and then simmered chicken in some salsa..added mushrooms, put 1/2 of chopped onion in with chicken when cooking it.. Filling and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 953) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States