Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
very tasty--everything gets mushy together in the casserole--but that's good too! For an additional kick I crumbled tortilla chips on top of the mixture when serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2000
I really liked this recipe, we ate it for days! I loved the chopped, uncooked sweet onions in it. I used brown rice instead of white, and Pace Chunky Salsa. With the meal I served extra salsa on the side, plus generous helpings of baked tortilla chips. You could use this recipe as a nacho-topper! -Marty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
I liked this; my husband thinks it needs more kick, perhaps a dash of Tabasco or some chili powder. I thought it was fine as is. Could be served as a filling for warmed tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
My husband and I really like this. He doesn't like salsa so I just use regular taco sauce and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
I love this recipe! I recently made this for my sister, a vegetarian, and her children. I just added two cream of mushroom soups and served the chicken on the side. Her family loved it. Tastes great in flour tortillas or with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I loved this recipe. It was easy to make and fairly quick. I used left over grilled chicken and I made the rice. I used a medium picante sauce instead of salsa. Everything went together easy enough and the taste was yummy. My kids (ages 7 and 8) didn't like but couldn't tell me why! Who knows! I loved it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
We thought this was terrific! I was doubtful as I layered this that there would be any taste but when it was all said and done, we thought it was great! We had to add a little S&P but other than that, I didn't change a thing and would make again. Next time, I may add a little more chicken as the meal is predominatly rice and heat can easily be adjusted based on the type of salsa you use. Thanks Tami!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This was quite a big hit in my family. I used hot, southwest style salsa, and I'm glad I did. Without it, I'm afraid it may have been too bland. (For the record, I never use hot salsa because I'm a wimp, but could not even tell it was hot in this dish.) I diced the chicken and then cooked in oil in frying pan before adding to the casserole. The only thing I will do differently next time is to season the chicken first; it could have used some fuego spice mix or, at the very least, some salt and pepper. When I got a bite of it in the casserole, it didn't taste like much. Overall, this was really yummy. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
OK for something different for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
This was pretty good. I added some corn kernels and chopped green chilies, and thanks to some of the other ratings I sauteed the chicken breasts with lots of spices. Still a touch bland but I didn't have enough salsa. Next time I will use lots of salsa and maybe more chicken breast. Made a ton, lots of lunches this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATEZ21

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 978) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States