Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Delicious! I did make changes with the help of a few other reviews & I added a few time savers. Every weekend I roast a chicken to use for several dishes for lunch & dinner- chicken salad, tetrazzini, etc. So I used already roasted chicken & just sauteed with low sodium taco seasoning (but tempted to try without to see if that's necessary). I used 1.5 boil in a bag brown rices. I used the Campbell Select soups for lower sodium and only used 3 cups of cheese (but am thinking of trying only 2 cups next time- was very rich and cheesy). The next day we had it for lunch in whole wheat wraps! I also may try it next time adding corn and black or refried beans- think it would add something. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
i added corn tortillas in the layers , also mixed black beans in with the chicken.. Havent' tried it yet, but it smells good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I love this recipe and made some changes. I double the recipe for my large family and add 1 can of corn and 1 can of blackbeans to the cream mix. I also saute the onion in 2 packets of taco seasoning. Then I add it to the cream mix. I use this mixture to make burritos and add sour cream and shredded lettuce to top it off. My family LOVES it and ask me to make it often. (It just makes a heap ton of dishes that my sister helps clean :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I don't know what happened but I thought this was bland. I tried the rotel, but it just did not taste as good as it sounded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Delicious and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made this recipe last night and it came out amazing! I added black beans and a couple of other seasonings including a half of cap full of smoke to the soup and salsa mixture to give it more of a smokey southwestern taste.I also cut done on the salsa, I used a little bit over a cup because i didnt want it to be to saucy. Everyone had first and seconds. There were hardly any left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
My husband said, "This is killer." I don't get that reaction with every casserole. :) I made a few changes: 1) I omitted the cream of chicken soup (kinda grosses me out) and substituted a can of creamed corn for it, (slightly drained). 2) I added a diced red pepper, which added flavor, color and nutrition. 3) I used one large bone-in, skin-on chicken breast, broiled in water for 40 minutes (any less, and it won't be cooked through) and shredded that, then added it to some leftover taco-seasoned shredded pork loin and black beans mixture. 4) Ate it with Fritos sprinkled on top. Made altogether, this was spicy, flavorful, and a "killer" keeper. :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Needed a little extra onions, cumin and garlic salt....and I doubled the rice....used half Spanish and half brown. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I'm posting this review mainly so I can remember the adjustments I made, because after doing this I won't go back to the original! I followed another reviewer's idea and used a cheesy flavor Rice a Roni (two boxes), cut down the cheeses to around 1 cup each, added a small can of drained black beans and chopped green chilis, and chopped up 1/2 a green pepper and 1/2 a red pepper (leftover from another meal, just to use them up). Added chives to the top. Kept the rest of the ingredients the same. EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 984) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States