Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This had excellent flavor! Though I think a few changes are in order. I would AT LEAST double the chicken next time (and maybe triple) if you would like this to serve as a casserole. Otherwise, it is merely a filling for, perhaps, a burrito. I also cut back on the onion out of personal preference. I used 90 second rice from Uncle Ben and rotisserie chicken to speed up the process. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was good, I would make it again but I need to play with the chicken more. I pan cooked it as some of the reviewers recommended, and seasoned it with fajita seasoning and it got a little too dry. Next time I will add a bell pepper or two for some extra color. My husband and kids all said it was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I make this at least once a week - it's my "go to" when making meals for friends, as well. I dice and throw the onions in with the rice while it cooks, and combine the soups and salsa with the rice/onion mixture before layering - rice mixture, diced cooked chicken, cheese, layered twice as the recipe calls for. I serve with black or refried beans, tortillas and salad. Fantastic, easy and always a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I used pineapple peach salsa that I found in the market and the dish came out like a sweet/sour chicken. The kids loved it enough to go back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This dish was the hit of my party!!! I made if for twelve people but instead of adding 1 1/2 cans of each soup I add both the full cans and more salsa so it didn't turn out dry and more cheese and it turned out Fabulous and like I said it was the hit of the party..Thank you for the recipe. Wendy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I may cut down the cheese next time. It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I loved the Salsa Chicken Casserole, I cooked the chicken in chicken broth with salt and pepper then cooked the rice in the broth while the chicken cooled. I also sauteed the onions and added corn tortillas (cut in slices)in the layering. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I cooked the chicken in a crockpot with salsa, salt, pepper, cayenne, salt, black pepper, cumin, coriander, chili powder, and red pepper flakes. When it was done, I shredded it and added the soups right to the crockpot. I did one layer of rice, chicken mixture and cheese. I also cooked 30 minutes with foil on and 15 minutes with foil off. Very tasty! I could have actually used a little more rice, I'll use two cups next time and also add beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
A bit runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very quick and easy. It was a family hit!! try adding potatoes, either sliced or shredded, which makes it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 954) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States