Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
So good! I was searching for a recipe that I could make with ingredients I had on hand. This one was perfect. I used two cans of Cream of Chicken, and more actual chicken breast than the recipe called for. I followed some of the suggestions in prior reviews and sauteed the chicken with the chopped onion and added a few tablespoons of taco seasoning mix, as well as a can of black beans. This casserole is TO DIE FOR! My boyfriend raved about it and happily ate leftovers for days afterward, saying it got even better as the days went by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by allisonb
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
As per other reviewers, I sautéed seasoned chicken and onions, season to your taste. since my family are meat lovers, added more chicken than recipe called for to 2 cups of rice. We have a growing 15 yr old son, to parents with teenagers, I am sure you can relate, any way, so, mix salsa and soup mixes to sautéed chicken, obviously, more chicken, more salsa, more rice, more cheese, you get the pic. I layered chicken salsa mixture at bottom of baking dish, then rice then cheese, and repeat, end with chicken mixture and cheese. Also very important I never dice my chicken, do not like the texture, so much better shredded or cut into thin strips. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Yummy! I halved the recipe and made a few changes as others suggested (mostly preparation not to the ingredients). I sautéed the onions and chicken and added a can of red kidney beans (drained) to the rice. I mixed one can of cream of chicken soup with medium spicy chunky salsa. I layered 1/2 of the rice/bean mixture, 1/2 of the chicken/onion mixture, 1/2 of the soup and salsa mixture, and 1/2 of the cheese mixture in the prepared dish then repeated the layers, ending with cheese. I covered the casserole with foil and baked it for 30 minutes, removed the foil and baked for 10 more minutes. This dish was tasty and easy to prepare. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Used leftover Thanksgiving turkey in this recipe and it was a great way to spice up some leftovers. The recipe was easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Very tasty. Used brown rice, mango salsa with a bit of Sciracha for kick, a little Adobo seasoning, and a combo of cheddar and pepper jack cheese (a little more than half the recommended amount). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
The whole family liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. The changes I made was that I cooked my chicken and onions in a little olive oil, then shredded it. I mixed the soups, salsa, and rice together. I used two small pans to have one to freeze for later. I layered it half rice, half cheese, chicken, half rice, then cheese. Made the night before then popped in the oven for an easy week night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVAMARIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was a quick and easy recipe in a pinch. Very tasty. The whole family liked it. I recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Daddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
In my house, leftovers tend to stay well past their welcome. I made this casserole as instructed with no add ons or substitutions and it lasted two days. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I was looking for something different from the everyday chicken and rice. This recipe rocked just as it is written and even my picky 24 year old daughter had a second serving! Wonderful recipe that will become a keeper in our kitchen. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 971) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States